Getting Better

Good morning. I’m 3 shifts in to actual work on the railroad. Last night/this morning seemed to be better. The first night was pretty killer as sitting in a truck for 6 hours trying to hold your speed to 13 or 15 miles an hour is killer on your right leg and feet. I’m actually surprised my ass didn’t hurt too. Last night in 5.5hrs of rail time I only got out of the truck once and my legs and feet didn’t bother me quite as much. I think another week or so and my body will adjust to the new strains.

As for my body and brain and night shift? Well that first shift was hell. Trying to drive us 1 hour back to the hotel was brutal at 5am. Last night although I didn’t work as late I think it would have been much better. Due to rail traffic we went home at 3:30am putting us back in the hotel 2 hours earlier than normal. What I’m trying to do is stay up till noon before going to bed. This mimics my previous routine of going to work 1-2 hours after waking up. 

As for my weight loss: it’s going well I think. I have no scale to go by but my pants seem to be looser so I think that’s a positive. It’s amazing how much less my desire for food is now that I have changed careers. These days I have to make sure I eat regularly. Before I use to have to make sure I didn’t eat all the time! So I do believe the career change will have a big secondary benefit like I thought. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Better

  1. biz319 says:

    I’ve never worked a swing shift before, although I still have dreams of opening a bakery which would mean starting to bake at 3 a.m.! My husband thinks I am crazy!

    Hooray for looser pants! :D

  2. Looser pants is a good thing!! Keep it up John!

Comments are closed.