Listen to Your Body

Today I took the day off from any physical activity. I’ll be honest, my heel has been a bit tender since Sunday when I upped my running a bit. On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the worst I rated it a 2-3. That’s why I took an easy walk Monday and an easy walk to badminton last night. However my heel this morning felt more like a 7 till I showered and moved around a bit. I blame this escalation more on the cement floors I played badminton on last night than continuing to exercise through the minor pain. My philosophy and experience is if something starts hurting unless it’s more than a 3 then go one more day easy. If it’s the same then just keep taking it easy till it’s better. If it’s worse STOP immediately and recuperate.

If you don’t listen to your body and continue to push through your exercise/activities injured you could set yourself back far longer than a day or two. 3 years ago I kept running through some knee pain and ended up having to take 10 days off training. If I had listened to my body maybe I would have gotten away with only being laid up 2-3 days. Being the manly man I am I like to push things when I get going and hate taking time off but I’ve learned my lesson. So hopefully tomorrow or Friday at the worst I’ll at least be able to go for a walk again.

P.S: Love it when WP tells me I have no writing errors!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Listen to Your Body

  1. lowandbhold says:

    It’s definitely important to listen to your body. Working out while in pain is never a good idea.

  2. It sounds like you may have a heel spur! Not that I’m a doctor because I’m totally not! I hope that it feels better on its own. I think you are smart to take it easy!

  3. I couldn’t agree more. It just isn’t worth risking a serious injury.

Comments are closed.