WHAT A GAME!

SUNDAY-after the game
Wow that was a great game. And I don’t mean just because Canada won the gold medal. I really believe the US would have been equally deserving of the gold medal. I know it sucks USA but congratulations on playing a great game and Olympics! This is the first hockey game I’ve watched start to finish in about a year. If both teams aren’t playing well I usually can’t watch a whole game. But both teams played so well I didn’t change the channel once or eat dinner! Congrats Canada!

Both the USA and Canada have some bragging right for this Olympics. USA has hauled in the most ever medals for any winter Olympics and Canada set a new GOLD medal haul for the Olympics overall(prev. 13) and as the host country(prev.10) at 14.

SATURDAY:
Ok now back to in comparison some pretty boring stuff šŸ™‚ Yesterday I worked,did some grocery shopping and then walked my 4 mile hill route. With all the truck repairs lately I shouldn’t have played poker last night but I did. As usual lately it didn’t start out too well. Lost $200 in the first hour and a half. The host lent me $100 and with that I ended up making all my money back plus a bit. I should have cashed out then but I didn’t. In the end I was down $25 on the night. That’s not bad and cheaper than going to a bar. The worst play I made all night was near the end as I had 2 slices of pizza. MY reasoning was I did pretty well for the month of February and this was going to be my little treat. I was right back to proper nutrition Sunday.

SUNDAY-before hockey game
I woke up at 10am getting 7 hours sleep after the poker game. As usual when I don’t have any immediate plans I laid in bed for a couple hours. At noon I downed a smoothie consisting of water,protein powder, meal, yogurt, strawberries, banana and cinnamon. Goes down smooth every time. I waited an hour after this then I hit the road for my last test run.
Earlier in the week I was just thinking another 4 miles but today I was thinking a 10k. So that’s what I did. I used the same Run/Walk method as Friday of 5/2. Since I was upping my mileage more than 50% I knew I had to take it nice and easy. My main goal was to finish so I didn’t push the running or even the walking. I ended up doing the 10k with no problem at all. Well except for one mental battle somewhere in the 3rd mile. I finished in 83:02 . After this I walked for another 30 minutes to cool down. This got me home with 20 minutes to spare before the start of the hockey game. I replenished my body with another smoothie. This one with 2 scoops of protein powder, a tbsp of EVOO and cinnamon. On the side I had 6 pieces of dried apricots.

TOMORROW:
I’ll review how my challenges are going after a second month.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHAT A GAME!

  1. Nicole says:

    I can’t believe the USA lost – such a good game!!

    Awesome workout, as usual! 83 minutes, woo!!!

  2. Astrid says:

    I am glad you are doing well, and that your workouts are going so well. You definately have a whole lot of mental strength to keep pushing yourself. That’s awesome! I didn’t watch the game, but I’m glad that the USA put up a good fight. Let’s face it, hockey is Canada’s game, they should win!

Comments are closed.