I Chose Health Over Money

Last Thursday I chose my health over money. A poker friend of mine owns a bar and is looking to get a Canadian Poker Tour League set up at his bar. One of the things he needs for this to go is a tournament director. That’s where I come in as I’ve been a tournament director for 6-8 years now. So last Thursday he wanted to know if I was interested. Normally a chance to make easy money is a no brainer and I say yes. However, this time I didn’t.

This time I said the only way was if he did it on Monday nights. I was almost going to do it when I got to thinking that I play badminton now on Tuesday nights. In two months our men’s golf league starts and it’s Tuesday night. When that ends in September I have 2 weeks before badminton restarts on you guessed it..Tuesday night.

So in the end I decided it was more important to keep my healthy lifestyle than make a couple of bucks. If they want me they’ll hold it Monday nights and if they really need it Tuesday I’ll help them find someone who will do a good job for him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Chose Health Over Money

  1. Heather says:

    I’m impressed with your decision making abilities πŸ˜‰ Hopefully they’ll move it to Mondays for you & you can have the best of both worlds!

  2. Astrid says:

    Good job keeping up with your priorities. That is certainly something to be proud of yourself for. Badmiton sounds like so much fun! I use to play golf a lot when I was younger (back in middle and high school), but I haven’t played in years. I might get back into it soon, because there are a few nice courses around here.

  3. Nicole says:

    That’s good! Health is more important than a few extra bucks πŸ™‚

  4. lowandbhold says:

    Great job! That would have been hard for me to do.

  5. april says:

    That’s a tough decision… but I’m glad you took your health as your number one priority!

    Oh, and your last comment on my blog brought a smile to my face! πŸ™‚

  6. Jess says:

    You play badminton? That stuff looks intense. They play it all the time in China and I saw some chick got nailed in the face with the shuttlecock thing. I laughed. Then felt bad. But I digress.

    Good job with putting yourself first. Money is great but your healthy is most important. You can’t buy health with all the money in the world (well to some extent…)

    As for running, I run with the iPhone but I pretend like my hand has super glue. Let’s hope that doesn’t jinx my run today.

    And dang, I aspire to run 6.4 miles all the way through one day. Keep it up.

  7. I used to love playing badminton! Good for you on putting your health first.

    Hopefully it will get changed to Mondays and you can do both.

Comments are closed.