Tuckered Out

Oh man I’m tired! I didn’t get out running till 1:15pm so that meant I went to badminton less than 4.5 hours after my run was done. Not much time to recover when I pushed it on my run. I got to admit I feel good though. This exercise thing isn’t that bad after all 🙂

Since I’ve pretty much decided to make Wednesdays my rest day I figured I’d push it on my run. I didn’t increase my distance but I tried to run my usual 4 miles as fast as I could. And I tried to run as much of it as I could. I hit the first mile marker at 11:35. I was really trying to hit the turn around(2 miles) in 23 minutes but I fell just short at 23:10. I was feeling good but took a rest at this point anyways. After 1m50s I cranked it up again. I was starting to feel it a bit during the third mile so I tried to get the 1 mile left with as much time left as I could to finish the 4 miles in 48 minutes max. I hit this with 13 minutes to spare and I think maybe that’s why my body and mind caved and I was walking again. I gave myself 2 minutes and went at it again. I was really trying to break the 11.5min/miles which meant getting home in 46 minutes total. It was close but I couldn’t do it. I came in just shy at 46m21 sec for a 11:35min/miles over 4 miles.

Don’t get me wrong I’m very happy with this and my progress overall. I mean I’m running maybe 3 weeks? and I’ve been able to run 4 miles in under 12min/miles! I started out at 13 minutes+. After a neighbour put me behind on my cool down I had just over 3 hours till badminton started.

Unlike last week there was just enough people out tonight. In just enough I mean there were very few breaks so you were constantly playing if you could handle it 🙂 I was there for about 2.5 hours and I’m sure I played at least 1.75 hrs.
With the run on top of this I was conservative and entered 105 minutes in my SparkPeople log. So for my run and cool down walk I burned 997 calories and for badminton another 1299 for a total of 2296 calories burned today. Because of a few different factors today that means I burned 600 calories more than I ate today.(Wasn’t cutting calories different things kept me from getting an extra meal in.)

And finally in response to Jess’ comment on my last post badminton is intense but especially so when I’m playing against the better players. And thanks for jinxing me as I took one of the nose tonight 😦 lol It was going slow so didn’t hurt me one iota 🙂

You know what I can’t figure out? Why I can play badminton make bad plays,whiff at the bird and lose handily but enjoy it.
Almost anything else I hate losing unless I’m playing well. Go figure?!

Guess I’ll leave it there and go see what everyone else was doing today. Have a good night and Hump Day! (that one was for you Kacy)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuckered Out

  1. Jess says:

    I KNEW IT! I knew I was going to jinx you somehow! I can never say things in English if I’m afraid of jinxing someone. Bah, sorry! Good thing it wasn’t going at top speed. If I saw you get hit though, I still would’ve laughed.

    Man, I’m tired. I ran 3.5 in 42 minutes, gonna try for 4 miles tomorrow. Then I basically supersetted and did a full body work out.

    But I rewarded myself with a cookies and cream protein shake. Yum yum yum.

  2. biz319 says:

    Great job on the run John!! That’s an awesome time!

Comments are closed.