What Do You Think?

Today’s a rest day so nothing really to report here other than I’m overdoing the calories a bit today. I’m going to make it so I’m not over more than what I was short yesterday But yeah it shouldn’t have happened. Just a little over indulgence of peanuts and dried bananas so nothing major. Since I don’t have anything else to say I thought I’d ask my first straight out question and see what you think.

Last week Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point posted about bib transfers and race banditing and it got me thinking. I was wondering what you thought of the idea of running to raise money for charity BUT that wasn’t the charity of the race event?

The Half Marathon I am running in May is in support of the Ottawa Hospital which is an hour away from where I live. I’m thinking this may be a reason folks around my town wouldn’t donate. If I was doing it for say the local Hospice I may get a better response. The only thing is I guess the Ottawa Hospital may have their volunteers putting a lot of work into this event and I wouldn’t be “honoring” this work.

There may be other things I haven’t considered and this may be a moot point because I haven’t decided either way whether to try to raise money. I have a big poker tournament in a week and a half so will have to decide by then as I’ll have a captive audience that day 🙂

So support the race charity or your own?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Do You Think?

  1. As someone who helped chair a large 5K event last year, I would urge you to stick with raising funds for the organization sponsoring the event. These races take months of planning and hard work. For my part, as a volunteer, I spent between 4-7 hours 7 days a week working on the race. (Can you tell how passionate I am about this. LOL!)

    I hope I don’t come off as judgmental, I suppose my suggestion would be to volunteer your time with the organization you would like to see benefit from your efforts or, if you don’t have the time, do some sort of one-time-only fundraiser that could help your favorite cause.

    Thanks for letting me give my two cents!

  2. Support the race charity. If you want to support your own charity then you can come up with your own individual event. Tell your friends you are going to run x distance on x day to raise money for the hospice and don’t take part in the Ottawa marathon at all.

  3. I too would vote for supporting the race charity. Those events really are a lot of work. You may be surprised by your friend’s willingness to donate.

  4. Pingback: Good Night at the Tables « 2010: Time to Challenge Myself

Comments are closed.