Injuries can be Weird

This morning I made arrangements to play badminton tonight since I couldn’t run. To do this I had to drop some poker stuff off to my buddy across town. I decided to walk slowly since it wasn’t as bad as running. That was a bit foolish thinking I guess. My foot wasn’t causing me wincing pain more like decent discomfort and concern. The walk home was even slower than the walk there. For what normally would take 1 hour it took me at least 1h 40min. So apparently I’m not going to even walk more than what’s required to live this weekend! Below is a pic from the bridge in my town.

Even though I went through all that early this afternoon it doesn’t mean I cancelled my badminton plans. If Tuesday night had not gone well I would have but since it did…game on! It was really slow there tonight so I ended up playing at least 2 hours almost straight through. I had a nice sweaty sheen at the end of the night. And that’s where the title of the post comes in to play. I played for 2 hours and yet at the end of the night I felt better than I did during my walk. Even now as I walk around the house my foot is better than after the walk. Like I said injuries can be weird!

Unless I honestly am 100% before Tuesday I’m not going to run or walk. And even if by some miracle I’m 100% Sunday I’m still cancelling my planned long run of 8 miles. So hopefully by Tuesday I’ll be able to start running again…or at least walk 😦

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Injuries can be Weird

  1. lauralei says:

    that water is amazing – the walk must have been really tough with the pain – glad the scenery was good

  2. Jess says:

    You try icing your foot? Bleh, foot pains are no good for a runner. I don’t want to jinx myself so I refuse to say the possible pain that might develop if I don’t take a break from running.

    But yeah, lay off the foot for awhile. Those piggies need a rest too.

  3. Nicole says:

    Gorgeous shot! Ice that foot down. Hopefully it’s feeling better by now. Have fun tonight with poker…that’s some serious money up for grabs!

  4. Joanne says:

    Love the flowing water! I would have enjoyed the walk, taking my time if I could past that kind of scenery.
    Best of luck with the injury. Food pain is a bummer.

  5. Dean says:

    I like the picture and I agree with the others remember:
    RICE
    Rest – Ice – Compression – Elevation

  6. Wow – what a beautiful pic!!

Comments are closed.