Stubborn Old Mule

I can be a stubborn old mule some days. I didn’t listen to my body in other words. I went out for a 4 mile run at 11:30 this morning and it was going really well. That is till I tried to put it in 5th gear. The reason I was looking for 5th gear is that I was pretty sure I could break 11min/mile over the first 2 miles. So what did I find when I put it in 5th gear? Pain! Again in my left foot and in the same spot as it first started hurting a week ago Monday. It just killed me right where my big toe and the one beside it attaches to the foot. 5th gear is apparently not completely healed. I immediately walked when this happened.

The only problem was I had 2 miles to walk home. So after 5 minutes when the foot started feeling better the stubborn old mule started running again. Just in 3rd gear though so I could get home a little quicker. It ended up I’d run 90sec/walk90sec for 3 times. I don’t know how or why but the foot kept getting better so I kept increasing the run portion till I ran the last 8 minutes home. For a cooldown I walked to the bank and back very slowly. I don’t know how or why but I’m walking around now as well as I was before the run?!

In other news: The crap the folks in the USA have been dealing with has it me although it was a gentle tap. It seems my insurance company is now looking at everyone’s credit history and if they don’t like things they are not renewing your insurance. So that’s one of the reasons I had to get home a little quicker as I had to be here to meet my insurance broker. She needed to take some pictures for the new insurance company. If that goes well and sounds like it will I’ll be insured after my other one expires next month but for about $8/month more. So I’m lucky it’s just a gentle tap than a big wallop.

I realized although I gave you some pics of the swinging bridge I didn’t give you one that showed it from the side so I took one today. It gives you a better idea of what it looks like. Well this old mule has a bunch of stuff like paperwork,laundry and a shower to squeeze in the next 4 hours before poker so I better be going.

Enjoy the rest of your day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stubborn Old Mule

  1. Haha, I can be stubborn too … sometimes it has its benefits, but other times, it is our own downfall!!

  2. lowandbhold says:

    Oh no sorry about the pain! Have you been to the doctor? It sounds like it could be the beginning of a bunion? When you have pain on the outside of the foot means that you overpronate, so a more stable running shoe might help you out. Lol, sorry for interjecting my very rudimentary knowledge on you.

  3. I do the same thing with my knees. I try and push it but then NO! I’ve had to force myself to stay at a certain pace when they are acting up – but it’s not easy.

    That bridge looks a little scary from the side!

  4. Nicole says:

    Sorry about the toe/foot again. Maybe it’s a muscle thing as it went away on its own after the run?

    Awesome bridge! Have a great weekend, John!

Comments are closed.