Trifecta Tuesday

I had quite the day planned since I got my bike back from the bike shop yesterday. The plan if it wasn’t raining today was to run 4 miles, bike 10 miles and play badminton this evening. In between the run and bike ride I googled “gait analysis”. I found 3 places that sounded good and made an appointment nwith one that was $40 for next Thursday. Once that’s done I’ll get new shoes that some of you have been recommending. On to the workouts today:

8:40a.m. – 4 mile run:
This morning my foot was fine but my left calf was a bit tight from Sunday’s run and golf. I can handle tight calves though as I’ve had them before and can run through them no problem. I started out just trying to run a steady pace hoping to come in around 12 miles/minute. Turns out I was running faster than that as I hit the one mile mark in 11:23. When the turn around came in at 22:45 I decided to try to break 11:30 min/mile average for the 4 miles. The 3 mile mark came in at 34:30 so that meant I had 11.5 minutes to run the last mile. Well I don’t know how but the last mile was only 10:32 and that allowed for my best time for the 4 miles… 45:02 I was tired but really happy!

3:30p.m. – 10 mile bike:
This was originally to just be an easy ride to get use to riding again. However, reading Caitlin’s blog today got my competitive juices flowing again so I changed it up. The new plan was to try to ride the 10 miles in 39 minutes as Caitlin had biked 18 miles in 70 minutes which works out to 3.88min/mile. For the first time I wore a helmet when not required. I wore a helmet for my OLYTRI 3 years ago because it was required but other than that I’ve pretty much refused. Seeing that Caitlin had crashed a week or two ago and hit her head I guess has me thinking maybe better late than never to wear it!

Ok so the 10 miles started out bad as I didn’t realize I went the wrong direction early enough. One direction you have all right turns and really don’t have to worry about oncoming traffic. The way I went you have to make 5 left turns and 4 of them you usually have traffic to deal with trying to make the turn. Also I couldn’t find the big gear for the first 3 miles so lost some speed. Unlike the run I only remember the time from the 7 mile mark. I needed to hit that spot at 27 minutes to have a slim chance at coming in at 39 minutes. The time was 27:45 though so pretty much had no chance. I didn’t quit but the wind really killed any hopes of turning it on like the run. I hit home in 40min 44 sec. Not too bad as I honestly expected to be around 43-45 minutes like I usually do the first ride of the year. I guess foolishly challenging Caitlin really did motivate me like I told her 🙂

6:45p.m. – Badminton
It was really busy tonight so for the 2.5 hours or so I was there I figure I only played for about 1 hour. Another reason is because I just didn’t have the energy I usually do. Adding that bike ride onto my normal Tuesday run and badminton really drained me I guess. Also only leaving myself a little over 2 hours to recuperate from the ride was a factor so next time I do this I will have to space things out better.

My food looked like this: Calories:2,044 Carbs:217 Fat:58 Protein:165

Calories burned: Run+Cool Down: 1005 calories
Bike Ride: 964 calories
Badminton: 742 calories
Total Burned: 2711 calories

I think I’ll take my rest day tomorrow gladly this time 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trifecta Tuesday

  1. How do you manage to get in so much protein? I don’t think I get enough!

  2. Jess says:

    Who’s Speedy McSpeederson now?! That 4 mile time is great! I’ll get there eventually. I think I need to set running goals (as in train for time or train for distance) and not try to do both.

    And dang, nice job on the bike ride. I don’t know if I can bike that fast. Intense. You should sign up for a triathlon *nudge nudge*

  3. ProGait says:

    I’m glad to hear that you have scheduled in a Gait Analysis. A Gait Analysis with an experienced Podiatrist is always recommended to highlight any biomechanical abnormalities that may becausing your injury.

  4. caitlin says:

    yay good job 🙂

  5. listedmal says:

    I didn’t know you could get gait analysis, as well than the obvious benefits you’ll get from having the correct shoes, it’s pretty cool in general that you can have your gait analysed.

    Have a nice rest day, and, ALWAYS wear a helmet!

  6. holy cardio! I love activity packed days like that.

  7. Nicole says:

    John, you are a workout king! Run, bike, and badminton all in one day? Please do rest today! Good for you in trying to keep up with Caitlin, she’s a monster!!

  8. Samantha says:

    That is a crap load of calories!! WIsh I had that much time to dedicate to exercise everydays! Keep up the good work.

  9. Wow that’s an amazing day of activity! Great job!!

  10. Michelle says:

    You are a machine! That’s awesome!

Comments are closed.