To Iron or Not to Iron?

Well boys and girls it was kind of lazy day today. I had a dentist appointment at 11am and 2 deliveries to make as well while I was in the city. Of course I really screwed up yesterday so one of the deliveries cost me almost 4 hours of my time today. After my dentist appointment I had lunch on the go consisting of a banana, 6 dried apricots and 15 crackers(240 cal). Well this was a mistake as I had an immediate energy loss an hour later. It was so bad I had to pull off the highway and take a nap. I realize I had pretty much all carbs and no protein or fat with lunch but this makes me want to keep my carbs at the level I have been taking them as I don’t like the effect they had today.

When I finally got home today I could have run but it would have left me an hour maybe before badminton to rest so I decided to put off the run till tomorrow. I shouldn’t have though as badminton was almost a bust. They’re having a tournament this weekend and a lot of the players were “practicing” tonight. That meant a lot of sitting and lower intensity games as I didn’t get to play against the better players much. I ended up leaving early only being there 1.5 hours and burning 500 calories.

Now the post title subject……

Since getting back into healthy eating and exercise I’ve been debating whether to try completing a half Ironman or not. For those that don’t know what it is it’s a 1.2 mile swim, 56mile bike ride and 13.1 mile run. Even though I have just been running I believe I have enough time to do this. Guess I need to work on the mental if I decide to do this 🙂
Race is July 11th so figure I should decide by middle of this month. What do you all think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Iron or Not to Iron?

  1. Jess says:

    Holy cow. I want to be supportive and say GO FOR IT but I also don’t want you to injure yourself. So I’m torn. You’ve got that half coming up! I’m thinking about doing a triathlon myself, but nothing close to IRON MAN status.

    But, I know you’re determined and you’ll train to your best in order to accomplish your goals. So basically, all I’m saying is I support you COMPLETELY if you decide to do it.

    By the way, I think we’re both crazy. I got the idea of the triathlon in my head a few days ago and now I’m considering buying a road bike.

  2. That’s ambitious! I don’t think I’d make it through the swim.

  3. listedmal says:

    I read the title and thought “Stop wearing cotton, that’ll solve your ironing problem.” Then I realised that you were likely not talking about ironing…

    I think it’s insane. But go for it.

  4. I wouldn’t do it – but I definitely think YOU should do it! You have been doing so great with your workouts and you are ready!!

    Sorry you had to go to the dentist – I hate the dentist.

  5. Michelle says:

    I think you should totally do it! Why not? It’s a challenge, and will give you even more to work towards. Even if it’s a struggle, you can say you DID it!

  6. My hubby is doing a half iron man in August. I think it sounds crazy – but I wish I could do it!! If you have the time to train, I say GO FOR IT!!!

Comments are closed.