Gait Analysis and Shoe Shopping

Ok so last Thursday I had a meeting with a kinesiologist to have my gait analysed. Or in layman’s terms have how I walk looked at. The purpose of this was to get a better opinion on what kind of shoes would be better for my feet when I’m running. They ask you a whole lot of questions before you go in such as do you have knee,hip or feet pain do you have numbness in your toes,etc. When I went in the doc(?) questioned me more trying to investigate my running and any other problems she may be looking for. Once that was done she had me walk across a pressure plate 3 times. The result of which you can see in the first pic.

It’s a color coded map of how my feet striked the force plate. The redder it is the more pressure was being applied in those zones. It’s harder to see but there’s a red and blue line on both feet. The blue line is the ideal way the foot lands. The red line is mine. This means I over pronate and actually pronate more on the left side then my right. Some other things she figured out is I have fallen Transverse Arches and dropped Tarsal Bones. Both of these are the source of my different foot injuries in the past month or two.

To help compensate all my problems she wrote me out some recommendations for when I went shoe shopping. She also recommended me away from the Running Room as she said they haven’t been doing a very good job fitting her patients.
Sports 4 was the place so I went right away as I knew I had a 11 mile long training run this weekend. Her recommendations were a shoe with a lot of forefoot cushioning, with moderate to severe pronation control and told me they should feel “cushioning”. There was one other thing but I can’t remember what it was as it was in short form..oh well.

My previous shoes have been Brooks Adrenaline GTS and have done me well but this time I ended up in a pair of Asics
“Gel Foundation 8” which set me back $158. It took awhile to get use to them but in the end I think they’ll be worth it as after my run I didn’t have any heel or foot soreness. It was only one run, albeit 11 miles, but hopefully they continue to work well as I don’t have another $158 to buy a new pair anytime soon. You can see a pic of the new shoes in the second pic.


After I bought my shoes I went to Popeye’s Supplements where I bought two 5lb tubs of protein powder. Since I’m in weight loss mode and have no particular goal in mind like putting on muscle I usually buy the protein powder that gives me the most serving for the money. Last week it was the EAS brand that was on sale for $39.99 for 5lbs. Since it was that low I bought 2 tubs. It says I should get 75 serving in each so it works out to 53C/serv. Luckily I use my PP in smoothies 99% of the time as I forgot it’s not the best powder to mix straight up in water. The 3rd pic shows my PP.

Well I think that covers my trip last week. If you have any questions let me know and I’ll try to answer them. Since I’m posting this so late tonight I’ll wait till tomorrow night instead of tomorrow morning to post my weekly weigh in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gait Analysis and Shoe Shopping

  1. Very interesting … I never really understood what “gait” was before.

  2. listedmal says:

    I’m interested in having my gait looked at, now that I know you can. Hope those new shoes work out.
    I love finding decent protein powders, some can be really gross; what does the kind you got taste like and how much protein per serving? I’m a water mixer, and I find I really like the vanilla house brand from GNC, my husband likes the strawberry one from there, but it reminds me of the flouride I used to get in public school…yuck.

    • John says:

      I bought vanilla this time but it wouldn’t have mattered if it was chocolate because I can never taste the PP unless I’m using it str8 up in water. Maybe if I remember I’ll try it with water and let you know tomorrow. This one has 23g of protein and 3g of carbs.

  3. Michelle says:

    I think getting new shoes are so exciting! I just bought a new pair last week for running and they are fabulous πŸ™‚

  4. Jessie says:

    I’ve been wondering what it’s like to get your gait analyzed. Have you ever seen this video from Harvard with video of gaits? http://www.barefootrunning.fas.harvard.edu/4BiomechanicsofFootStrike.html I thought it was interesting to see in slow motion.

    I hope the new shoes work for you – they look very nice πŸ™‚

    • John says:

      That’s an interesting link Jessie. I would like to try running on the forefoot strike again but will probably wait till after my HM to be sure I’m injury free for it.

  5. lowandbhold says:

    Cool! I hope the Asics treat you well. If so they’ll be worth the investment πŸ™‚

  6. I bet you will enjoy those well fitted shoes! I would love to have my gait analyzed – sometimes I get weird pains in my knees and legs!

  7. biz319 says:

    What a great way to buy shoes! I live in a tiny town, but I’ll have to check into that. Your comment on the doll on my last post made me laugh out loud!!

  8. Jaren says:

    Very useful piece

  9. ProGait says:

    Great post! Gait analysis is highly recommended for everyone. Even if you are not an athlete a gait analysis can highlight biomechanical abnormalities which may be causing aches and pains whilst weight baring and non-weight baring. I’m glad you found the experience beneficial and I wish you the best of luck with your new training shoes.

  10. cheap store says:

    Good thanks, You guys do a great blog, and have some great contents. Keep up the good work. πŸ™‚

  11. I admit, I have not been on this webpage in a long time… however it was another joy to see It is such an important topic and ignored by so many, even professionals. I thank you to help making people more aware of possible issues.

Comments are closed.