The “Machine” is unsure

Good evening everyone! A few of you have called me a machine so I went with it for the title of my post tonight 🙂

A few weeks ago I had mentioned I was contemplating signing up for the Half Ironman in July. Since then I’ve been slowed down by my thoughts and feelings during my long training runs and biking. When you’re out there running 11 miles and the last 2-3 miles are getting to you mentally you (well I have) begin thinking ” And I want to run 13.1 miles after biking 56 miles?!”. I was thinking the same thing last week when I went on my 28 mile bike ride and it was getting to me. Of course 28 miles was quite the jump in training not to mention my bike had 2 bent rims! But still these long training days have been getting me to second guess my ability mentally to make it through 70.3 miles which would be anywhere from 6.5 to 8 hours.

So this is where I’m at on the HI decision: I’m not doing it…..unless I happen to have a good long bike ride or two. Until then what I am doing is training for the Olympic Triathlon. I haven’t paid my entry fee yet so I will train for the OLY for a few weeks and after that will either pay the entry for the Oly or wait a bit longer if I think I may be able to do the HI afterall. For those who don’t know the difference in the races, they are:

Half Ironman: 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run…..total 70.3 miles
Olympic Tri: 0.93 mile swim, 24.85 mile bike, 6.2 mile run…total 31.98 miles

Needless to say I need to get cracking on the training. The swimming I’m going to start May 3rd and the biking I hope to start Monday. I bought a used road bike tonight so this is possible now after bending both rims on my old bike. This new bike seems to be quicker and a bit lighter so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it. The only problem may be the fact it might be a bit small for me. I’ll be happy if I can make it through the year with it. Next year I’ll worry about a better one when I decide how much triathlon and biking will be part of my life.

Although I woke up with my feet recovered from yesterday I still took the day off from exercise. Tomorrow’s training calls for a 4 mile hill run and then I’m crazily walking a tough golf course at noon. Going to be another tough day on the legs 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The “Machine” is unsure

  1. I didn’t realize there was SUCH a big difference between the olympic tri and the 1/2 Iron Man!

  2. I thought you might be interested in reading this post from my blogging friend, Melinda. She just finished the Boston Marathon and writes about her struggles to finish:

    melindahinsonneely.com/blog/fitness/how-to-reach-a-goal-the-grueling-way-the-2010-boston-marathon/

    I found it very inspiring and thought you might too.

  3. poisonivy250 says:

    I can’t wait to train for a triathlon, I need to learn to swim well first though. LOL

    Glad I found your blog. Your journey sounds like it might be similar to mine in regards to weightloss and exercise.

  4. Astrid says:

    I don’t think that I have any desire to do these huge events. I love training and seeing my progress, but I hate having the pressure to keep upping my mileage. I love the fact that it is coming naturally and comfortably and that I have no injuries. You are honestly so inspiring in running so many miles and pushing yourself so hard! Hope you have (had) fun on the golf course!

  5. I’m just content to keep doing my little 5K’s on occasion. I guess I’m just not driven the way other people are. I so admire people who compete in the long distances, etc. Amazing!

  6. The olympic try sounds good enough for me! Good luck with the training!

  7. Jess says:

    When’s your Oly Tri? I forgot to tell you. A bunch of us are doing a Sprint Tri in Florida in July 2011 (well hypothetically speaking…I’m committed 100% but not gonna speak for others). If you’re interested (it’ll be a piece of cake for you but I guess you can PR), pencil it in!

    I know you will kick ass at the Oly Tri. The only thing that worried me about the HI is that you wouldn’t have enough time to train and burn yourself out. I have no doubt you can do an HI. So you should still sign up for one, just give yourself more time to train.

    Keep it up, Machinist.

  8. Jessie says:

    I think it’s great that you’re doing the Olympic Tri! I think that would be a good way to prepare for a future Half Ironman, if you want to do it.

    Good luck on your run tomorrow!

  9. Wow. I did a sprint triathlon last year, and it was a blast, but I don’t think I want to do the 1/2 iron!

  10. Dean says:

    I’ve been contemplating a triathlon to, after I finish (if I do) my marathon. I have a road bike already, although some of the ones I’ve found close to me would actually require an off road bike. The thing that holds me back is the swimming part. Oh sure I can swim good enough not to drown, but I’m really not the best swimmer. I still think it would be cool to actually compete in one though, and who knows. Maybe when I recover from the marathon I’ll give it some more serious thought.

Comments are closed.