Weekly Weigh In#8

Good evening! I had planned on giving you a recap of my weekend away tonight but my run tonight has wiped me out.
Instead I’ll report on my weigh in this morning and tonight’s run. I wasn’t sure what to expect this morning when I weighed myself. While away I ate fairly well over the weekend but did have for the first time this year…….desert! Actually I had 2 deserts Saturday night and another one Sunday at lunch. I finally decided for my brother’s wedding I’d risk relapse and have what they were serving. So for the wedding dinner the desert was cherry cheese cake and afterwards there was the wedding cake to try. For the gift opening they served more wedding cake so had one more piece. You know what? I’m not interested at all in getting back on the desert bandwagon. I don’t know if it was the deserts or my changing taste buds but it just didn’t do for me what it use to do. Obviously that’s a good thing 🙂

CW : 282.5 lbs
PW : 283.6 lbs
LTW : 1.1 lbs
LTY: 62.1 lbs

Tonight’s run was necessary as I haven’t run since last Thursday. I decided to try doing my 1 mile repeats again since my Garmin wasn’t set up right last time. Tonight I set it right and headed out at 6pm. I again walked 1/2 mile to warm up and then tried to light up 1 mile. That didn’t happen! After 1/2 mile of running fast I just couldn’t hold out for the last 1/2 mile.
I thought I’d try again after 1/2 mile walk but the same thing happened. I just couldn’t find the 1 mile endurance I had last week.

So did I quit? Well in a sense I did many times 🙂 Physically I didn’t and you know what kept me going? My loyal followers kept me going. Yeah that’s right. YOU kept me going! I kept thinking of everyone who reads this blog and those of you who take the time to comment and that kept me going tonight. So instead of quitting I changed my work out from 1 mile sprint/ 0.5 mile walk X 4 times to 0.5 mile sprint/0.5 mile walk X 8. After I finished I walked another .93 miles before heading home for a late dinner.

All walks were between 7:35 and 8:04 per 1/2 mile. The .93 at the end was purposefully slow at 15:56. Overall workout distance and time was 8.93 miles in 1h 53m 2? sec. The 1/2 mile sprints in order were:
4:34:17
4:36:16
4:18:70
4:23:11
4:23:99
4:16:94
4:31:79
4:23:68

Thanks for keeping me going! I’m going to relax now and try to catch up on some blogs. Good night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Weigh In#8

  1. I am not a big fan of desserts … and I like it that way!

  2. Nicole says:

    That’s awesome, John! I think of bloggers when I want to throw in the towel, too. It really helps! And congrats on another wonderful weight loss! Chugging right along! Woo woo!

    Thanks for your woes on my post. I am bummed, but it’ll be okay 🙂

  3. Jess says:

    Welcome back from an awesome weekend! AND HEY, the desserts did not hamper you. Still had a good loss. Great job on pushing through. You know what, some days you just don’t feel like running and that’s OK. I have come to terms with that myself. It’s like, I’ll go in with a mental game to run and I’ll start only to realize that it’s just not my cup of tea for the day. But the important thing is that you didn’t just call it quits and pushed forward. That, my friend, is the real win.

    High five. Good job.

    And, hope your weekend was fun! So many weddings and proposals in your family!

  4. Jessie says:

    Good for you for not giving up! 🙂 It’s so nice to have a support system to keep us going, even if they’re scattered and far.

    I know what you mean about changing tastes – I;m not nearly as much of a sweets person as I used to be after I stopped eating so much of it. I think our bodies really know how to take care of themselves!

  5. Definitely don’t give up! Glad you didn’t!! It’s a journey not a race and your journey is going so well. I noticed my tastes changed a lot both during my own journey to lose all my weight and after!

  6. lowandbhold says:

    I think I’ll always be on the desert bandwagon. I love sweets.

    Congrats on the weight loss! You’re doing awesome.

  7. biz319 says:

    John – hooray for not giving up! I’ll continue to be our cheerleader – I’ll be on the angel sitting on your shoulder telling you, you can do it! when the devil on the other side is telling you to quit!

    GREAT JOB!!!!

Comments are closed.