Double Workout

As I suggested in my last post I did a brick tonight. Sort of. Between work and the impending rain I knew I couldn’t bike and run so I decided to change it up. What I decided to do was squeeze in a quick 4 mile run and attend a boot camp class at the local gym. I’ve been looking for a circuit training class that’s closer to home. These guys offer a trial class before signing up for a month so I tried it out tonight.

My run had to be quick as I only had 54 minutes before I had to be at the gym. My goal was to run 4 miles under 40 minutes. I would have done it had I not buckled again and walked 3 times! In the end I was very close so I’m not too bummed. My time was 40:01.44

When I got home I had 13 minutes to grab my keys and drive to the gym about 5 minutes away. When I got there I had to climb 38 steps to get to the gym. MY legs weren’t happy. I was trying to stay open-minded going into this class but was still kind of hoping for something similar to what worked for me before.

They started us out in no particular order with skipping rope, crab walk, inchworm, push ups, spinal twists, rolling v’s, some back stretch and arm circles. That was to warm up. After this I was expecting some set stations and we’d progress through them. What we did was find a spot on the floor and then did a number of the following exercises. Jumping Jacks, Turkish Get Ups, Squats, Sit Ups, Burpees and Dumbbell Snatches.

So how many of these do you think we did? 10-15 of each and repeat three times? Heck no! They’re nuts. What they did was shuffle a deck of cards and you did a certain exercise based on the suit and how many of each by the number of the card. So at some points we were doing about 60 dumbbell snatches with only about 20 of the other exercises thrown in.
At the end of the deck we had to do 28 burpees in a row after 12 situps which were after 20 burpees.

Needless to say I didn’t really like this class. I may try signing up for a month but it will be further down the road as I can’t see doing this particular workout of their’s anytime soon. I may have signed up if I had attended a fairly normal workout. Am I whining too much about this workout or not?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Double Workout

  1. Holy hell!! That is a CRAZY workout!!

  2. JC says:

    I haven’t attended a boot camp class (but having been wanting to)… but I was always under the impression that they cater to the individual. It doesn’t sound like that’s the case in the class you attended!

    • John says:

      I realize now I didn’t mention this but this bootcamp wasn’t a one on one class.
      There were 2 of us guys and about 12-15 women in the class. So the class has to be something rigged for everyone. Just think they shouldn’t rely on the shuffling of a deck of cards for the order and number of reps of a workout.

  3. Jess says:

    Oh yeah! I’ve seen the card trick. I was going to try that a bit later down the road but hm, sounds intense haha. That workout really sounds…killer.

    Nice run by the way! I went for a long run today in my Vibrams and it rocked. I’m not so terrified of the Half any more. It’s GOING to happen!

  4. Jessie says:

    YIKES that sounds like a tough workout! I don’t think I’d like it either. I think I’ll stick with running 🙂 Speaking of, nice job on your running!

  5. I would have to be carried away on a stretcher if I did that! Congratulations on an amazing workout!

  6. Good heavens! That sounds intense!

  7. Dean says:

    I guess the idea is that generating a random work out keeps the body guessing, but not my ideal workout for sure.

  8. Sounds really intense. Way to stick it threw though!

  9. That’s so cool! I wish I could have done that workout. I love a tough workout.
    28 burpees in a row is intense.

  10. 60 dumbbell snatches? Wonder someone didn’t dislocate a shoulder!

    Great job on the run 😀

Comments are closed.