Little After Work Brick

Good evening folks!

With Mother’s Day this weekend work was pretty busy today. I didn’t get done till 5:30pm so I had to immediately get going with my planned workout this evening. Since Wednesday night I’ve been planning to do a brick sooner rather than later. A “brick” for those of you who may not be familiar with the term is simply training two different sports in the same workout with minimal rest between to get use to switching from one sport to another. The most used brick workout is a bike/run brick. You can always practice other bricks such as a swim/bike or run/bike. I use the run/bike quite often as I feel my legs recover much quicker after a run when I bike right after.

My original idea was to bike 20 miles and run 4 miles today. Lack of daylight and a wonky bike made me cut the bike ride down to 15.17 miles. The new bike needs a tune up as I kept dropping the chain while changing gears. This made me stop a few times and slowed me down at others. I didn’t want to break down further from home then I had to so wisely cut it short. After the bike ride I “transitioned” at home. I dropped my helmet for my ball cap, had a #1 and grabbed some water.

When you do this brick workout you’ll immediately notice that your legs are not normal or ready for running. Usually you’ll find it takes up to 1/2 a mile before you get your legs “back”. Tonight it took about 1/3 of a mile of running before my legs and feet for that matter felt normal. The run went really well even though I’d biked 15 miles almost immediately before starting my run. I decided to run a little more than 4 miles so I’d have a nicer number at the end. I ended up running 4.33 miles so that my bike/run brick was 19.5 miles total.

My time for this was 1:46:28 although this didn’t include my transition time or stopping to repair my chain. I forgot I had turned on the elapsed time on my Garmin. After the run I walked 1.5 miles at 17min/mile pace to bring my total workout to 21 miles even and a total time of 2:15:11

I’m really glad I got this brick in tonight as I need to do a number of these leading up to my OLYTRI and on top of that the weather is looking terrible for this weekend. Tomorrow is supposed to be a high of 3C/37F and it’s suppose to rain.
Sunday’s forecast is calling for SNOW and a high of 2C/35F. Tonight was positively balmy at 11C/52F 🙂

Ok that’s it for tonight. I’m off to do some paperwork for my business while watching the second half of the Spurs/Suns game. See you tomorrow night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little After Work Brick

  1. I love the brick workouts.

    Do you do the downshift trick for the transition? I found that lowering the gear about 1/2 a mile before the run transition so that I am pedaling at what would be a running cadence really helps when I get off the bike and start running. Helps decrease that funny feeling.

    • John says:

      Hey thanks Lori for bringing that trick up. I didn’t but as soon as I read your comment I immediately remembered I use to. Wonder what else I’ve forgotten?!

  2. Jessie says:

    “Had a #1” <- hehe

    Sounds like you had a a nice workout, even if the bike ride was short. I've never heard of a "brick" workout, but it sounds like a great way to cross-train and build endurance. Have a great weekend!

Comments are closed.