My Day Kept Getting Better

Good evening everyone! I’m going to start tonight’s post where I left off yesterday. After writing my post yesterday I headed to the golf course to play a round with a couple of friends. The most important thing was to beat my friend “The Cook” as we play for our little plaque each year. Going into this round I was leading our race to 9 wins with a 3-2 record.
Neither one of us had our best games yesterday to say the least. After 3 holes I was trailing by 5 strokes! I kept a positive attitude and by the 11th hole I tied it up. This is also when my buddies game went in the crapper.

Heading into the 17th hole I was confident I’d win as I was up 5 now with just 2 holes to play. I teed off 17 with one of my best drives leaving myself 125 yards to the green. I then hit a 9 iron which took off a bit right of the flagstick but came back towards it as it flew. It then proceeded to get a great kick towards the flagstick and I was just hoping it wouldn’t go past it as it looked like it was hot. I was just turning to watch my buddy hit his next shot when I could have sworn I heard the ball hit the flagstick! The way this hole is set up you couldn’t see where on the green your ball was from 125 yards out. Once we all had hit and were going to the green I kept looking for my ball everywhere but couldn’t see it. My buddies driving a cart reached the hole first to look for my ball. The first one to look in the hole tried to keep a straight face when he said it wasn’t in the hole but I caught a slight grimace in the corner of his mouth! So I said it’s in isn’t it and he dejectedly said yeah. I obviously was pretty happy as that means I “eagled” the hole! It’s only my second eagle of my golfing career and the first on a par-4. The first one came on a par-5 where I holed out from about 60 yards.

So to top off having a great run and beating my buddy I also eagled a hole. As we were heading home I said to my buddy wouldn’t it be nice to win some money tonight at poker as well?! He chuckled. I honestly didn’t expect to win last night but wouldn’t you know it I did! Well I didn’t officially win I took home the most money. We decided to split 1st and second at 1am based on our chip stacks as it was getting late and we both had to work in the morning. I had the guy 3 to 1 in chips so I took home $510 and he got $440. It was a bounty tournament as well and I had 5 bounty chips worth $10 a piece. Since the buy in was $50 the bounties covered that meaning the main prize payout of $510 was pure profit.

So to recap: fastest 4 mile run yet, won my golf game and eagles a hole and won a poker tournament. It really couldn’t have been much better yesterday! Just in case I bought a lottery ticket for tonight’s draw. A guy can hope right? πŸ™‚

Tonight after work I got on the bike for a 20 mile ride. It was pretty windy so I decided to do 2 laps around “my block” so I wouldn’t have to ride 10 miles in a row into the wind. Doing the laps I had a strong headwind or crossing headwind for the first 5 miles each lap and a decent tailwind the other 5 miles. I knew it wouldn’t be a great time but I know it was a much needed ride. Wind or not I need to get out and ride 3 times a week from now on. My time for 20 miles was 1:19:19.

That’s it for tonight. I’m not sure if I’ll post tomorrow night. I’m planning on resting tomorrow in preparation for my last long run Sunday. Sunday’s run is 14 miles. I’ve been thinking of posting my first Half Marathon race report since my 2nd one is just 2 weeks away now. Kind of gives me the night off yet I still get a post up πŸ™‚

Enjoy your weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Day Kept Getting Better

  1. $510 – nice!!!!!!!!

    Have a great weekend!!!!

  2. Michelle says:

    Yay for good days!
    Enjoy your rest day πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! Sounds like a great day. Congratulations on the eagle on the course – that’s something not too many people can say they did!

  4. April says:

    Man, it was truly your day!

    Hope you rested up yesterday πŸ™‚

  5. Where can I get a day like that?!!

    Wanted to let you know that I passed on the question regarding swimming that you submitted for trainers to answer. I’ll have the answer posted on Wednesday.

    • John says:

      Yeah those days don’t come often so I wish I could bottle them sometimes! I read every post but will pay particular attention to your post wednesday!

  6. Good luck always comes in 3’s right?

  7. Jessie says:

    Wow, nice eagle! It seems like you had a superb day πŸ™‚ I’ll cross my fingers for the lottery ticket!

  8. Nicole says:

    Holy winnings! You fared well, 1st or not! You play with high rollers, I like it!!

Comments are closed.