488 Minutes

That’s how much activity I completed today. Taper week for my half mary starts tomorrow so figured I’d get one last big workout in today. I woke up at 6:30am because I had a golf game lined up for 10:22am in a town about 1h15m away. Getting up that early allowed me to get my last long run in before I left. 7 miles was on the books today so I figured I’d try running it the way I want to run my HM. The first 2 miles I tried to run between 10.5-11:00/miles. The next 5 I wanted to try to speed up each mile till I was running between 9:30-10:00/miles. I was pretty successful as these were my splits : 11:15,10:43,10:22,10:13,9:47,9:51,9:40 Total Time : 1:11:55

If I can run this way next Sunday and keep up the 9:40/mile for the last 6 miles I’d be very happy as it would get me a PR. A guy has to have hope šŸ™‚ I’ll post my goals for the HM later in the week. After my run I walked 1 mile to cool down then rushed to get ready for golf.

Golf was round 7 in my buddy and I’s race to 9 wins. Going into today I was leading 4-2. Today I played well overall but had a few bone head moments to end the day with a 96 on what I thought was a fairly easy course. My buddy had another rough round. The only difference between this one and the last one he lost was today he sucked all day rather than just the back 9. Lucky for him he got to watch his Blackhawks win today to make it to the Stanley Cup finals. A bit of a silver lining šŸ™‚ He’ll be feeling the pressure next time out to win because it will hard to beat me if I get to 6-2.

After the golf I headed to the city to buy swim trunks. This is one of the reasons I haven’t been swimming yet. The other reason is that I’ve been lazy and little shy to go swimming with my big gut šŸ™‚ Well one excuse is gone since I did find and buy a TRI short. These allow you to swim in them and bike and run as well. These will save me time in transition at my triathlons too so that’s an added bonus too. I was planning on starting my swim training tomorrow night but I have a family BBQ to attend so it may have to wait till Tuesday now.

When I finally got home I took a rest for about an hour then headed out the door for an inaugural bike ride. inaugural? Yes inaugural because I bought a new bike on Saturday. This one is much better! It’s easily lifted with one hand so it’s very light. It’s a bigger bike so my knees so far are liking it. And it’s fast! Tonight I averaged 18.1 mph over 25 miles! My only OLYTRI I ever completed I did the bike portion in 1:21:xx. Tonight I did it in 1:22:45 so I’m only a minute off my best pace for 25 miles.

So between running,golfing and biking and cool down walks I exercised 488 minutes today covering 41 miles. It will be at least a week before you see another post like this one as this week’s goal is injury prevention. I’ll post my taper week plan tomorrow night. Good night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 488 Minutes

  1. That is a LOT of activity!!! Good for you!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Nicole says:

    HOLY MOLY John! You are so impressive! You are going to do soooo well next week! Please do follow your taper plan this week, you need your energy and health for the HM!

Comments are closed.