Not Quite as Planned

Hello folks! Sorry for bailing last night but I just didn’t feel like typing anything. Here’s what I would have told you though: “Leading up to me getting off work tonight it was raining pretty well but managed to stop before I was home. It was too late though as I had already convinced myself to take the night off and bike Thursday. I even decided after a lacklustre swim Tuesday night that I’d skip swimming tonight as well!” So clearly you didn’t miss much with me skipping a post yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚

TODAY’S Activity:
Today my plan was a 10 mile hill run this morning followed by a swim at noon followed by a 20 mile bike this afternoon.
Here’s what actually went down today! It didn’t go as planned but some of it was my fault as well.

The new 10 mile hill route I’ve been running is a route I drive 2-3 times a week. Since the first time I’ve run it I’ve been thinking of running a little further. The reason is that it’s only 1.5 miles further to this little town. So clearly it’s just for bragging rights..lol. Today I probably shouldn’t have but I did run to that little town and just past to reach 6.55 miles leaving me 6.55 miles back to my car for a Half Marathon ๐Ÿ˜‰ The run was going really well till 3/4 of a mile into the return. This 3/4 of a mile was into a fairly stiff wind and it was long slow climb uphill. It just did me in and I had to walk. I was only going to walk 1 minute but after restarting the run my right arch twinged a bit so I shut it down for 1/2 a mile.

Once I started running again my foot felt 100% again. I still didn’t have my usual perseverance though and 1 mile later I was walking again. To shorten this up a bit I travelled 13.1 miles of hills with 10.6 running and 2.5 walking. This will be my last long hill run for a couple of weeks as next week is taper week for my triathlon. Once home I decided if I tried swimming 45 minutes later it wouldn’t be a quality swim so decided to put it off till tonight.

After lunch was eaten and had settled I headed out on the bike. Wouldn’t you know it though…..another $!%@$%^!#$ flat tire!!!!! Luckily I was only 3.5 miles from home so I didn’t even bother hitch hiking and just walked home. I wouldn’t have had to walk home if I had put the bike repair kit on my bike that I bought late last week! Yes you’d be right in thinking it must be on the bike now! lol Luckily repairing bike tires is kind of like riding a bike. Once you learn you never forget. I took my time just to be sure on the first tube repair in say 20+ years. Next time I’m confident I could fix it in 5 minutes or less.

By the time I had walked home, fixed the tube, installed the seat bag with tire repair kit and spare tube it was time for my next meal. This meant it wasn’t till 6pm before I got out on the bike again to try to get my 20 mile ride in. The first 10 miles were slow and stead as there was a strong head and crossing winds the whole way. I tried to keep it steady but not crazy pace hoping to burn it up on the return. It worked like a charm as I burned up the return in 29:01(10.01miles) while the out ride took 39:17(10.03miles) for an average speed of 17.6mph for the entire ride.

After getting home from the ride I walked 1 mile to cool down. From there I went to the computer to write this post. After which I’m going to make my last meal to go as I’m heading to the pool in 20 minutes and should be in the pool by 9pm. After the pool I need to come home and do an hour of paperwork for tomorrow’s work day. Other than meal time I really haven’t sat down today ๐Ÿ™‚

STATS:
23.5 miles biking
10.6 miles running
7.0 miles walking
50 min. swimming(well 25-38 depending on the repeats I decide to do)
Calories burned today: 5403 (not counting swimming)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Quite as Planned

  1. Pingback: In The Midst Of Microsoftโ€™s Office 2010 Launch, Google Upgrades Sharing For Docs | International News - Stay up to date with the latest World News, Finance & Business, Green News, Technology and Sports

  2. That sucks about the flat tire!! Frustrating hey!!

  3. April says:

    You couldn’t pay me to run 10 miles at once so good for you! Skipping is a workout too you know ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. So sorry about the flat tire – not a good thing. That is a lot of calories burned up!

  5. lowandbhold says:

    I’m pretty sure that even if I do ever manage to buy I bike, I’ll never be good at maintaining it. I’m terrible at those sorts of things. Good job on the long run! No shame in a little walking.

Comments are closed.