Brief Glimpses

Well today I got 2 brief glimpses into the future. Since I missed most of last week you guys don’t know I’ve been bricking.
That is I’ve been biking and then almost immediately running as if I was doing those parts of my triathlon. I mainly started it last week because life got in the way of my training and I had to squeeze in my training somehow. Since my transition into the run went so well Sunday in my tri I’ve decided to continue bricking till my next tri. So this morning I biked 25.1 miles in 1:20:50 which worked out to 18.6mph average. This is what I did in my only tri 3 years ago and I’ve finally got back to that level!

My transition was very slow today but it won’t be race day. It was slow because I forgot my water bottle for the ride so I had to hydrate for the run. Then I needed to dehydrate 🙂 because it’s not race day and I wasn’t doing that on the run. Besides I wasn’t in my swimsuit so it’d be too uncomfortable 🙂 If you don’t know what I mean…..some hardcore triathletes will do their business(pee) without stopping their bike or run! I’m not hardcore yet.

My run went very well today and I attribute that to my training. Even though today’s run was 1.2 miles longer than Sunday’s I still ran it 5 second a mile faster at 9:11/mile average. My total time including transition was 2:20:1x (darn Garmin cuts last number off…got to figure out how to fix that). If we were to assume I swim no worse than 3 years ago and add that time to today’s time then I should knock at least 5 minutes off my previous OLYTRI time. I’m kind of hoping to find the strength to knock 10 minutes off my previous best of 3:04:35.

The other glimpse I got was a new number on the scale. Like I said yesterday the closest I got to breaking through 250lbs was hitting exactly 250lbs. And not even a training session where you sweat a lot of water out the scale wouldn’t show me any lower. Well today gave me hope the 240’s are coming soon. After my brick this morning I weighed 248.2 lbs!
Now obviously after I ate and rehydrated I was back at 252 but anytime I see a new number, 24X when you’re 25X, etc., then it helps keep me motivated.

That’s about it. I’ll be into the “S” blogs tomorrow but jeepers all the ones I caught up with yesterday have new blog posts already 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brief Glimpses

  1. Congrats on the loss – you are doing so well!! I went for my first bike ride of the year today, and it was great! It was SO hot out though, I thought I might die!!

  2. Astrid says:

    I bet you are feeling so much better too! You have truly changed your life around and it seems like you are loving this lifestyle. I want to try a brick workout once my boyfriend fixes his bike. I just want to see what it feels like. Maybe it will inspire me to do a tri, but really I just want different workout options in my life!

    • John says:

      I am feeling better and I do enjoy the lifestyle. I mean Monday I was jonesing to work out! Didn’t so I had at least 1 recovery day after the TRI. A brick is definitely a workout and if you like it then you just need to add the swim part and you’ve done the tri 🙂
      (That’s how they sucked me in 3 years ago…lol)

Comments are closed.