June Challenges Review-Half Way Point Progress Pics

Good evening! Well its July 1st which is Canada Day here. It’s also the 1/2 way point of my year-long challenges. I’ve added some progress pictures at the end of this post. I thought I took before pictures when I started this but I can’t find them! So I’ve added before pics of me 3 years ago which would be close to what I looked like this year when I started out 13lbs heavier than these before pics. On to the review…….

1. CUT OUT WHITE DEATH: this is probably the best month so far for this challenge as I only went over my sodium intake twice. Quite a few days I was near 2300mg but did stay under. The sugar intake continues to go well as I didn’t have any sweets again. I’ve been getting all my sugar/sweet tasting food from fruit and this month…dates…oh so good but almost too good so when my last serving is eaten I’m going to avoid them for a while.

2. Exercise 6hrs minimum/week: this is obviously going very well with my hitting 20 hours some weeks. Some of those 20hrs have been golf but I do walk when I golf so it’s still exercise. My last tri is in 10 days so I imagine my training will be cut drastically as I won’t have to train for biking and swimming anymore. However I hope to keep doing them a bit for cross training.

3. STOP EATING OUT unless(I have a very good reason): except for one meal at Subway when a friend needed me to talk with I didn’t eat out this month at a restaurant. I did however eat 2 of my meals out every day I worked by picking up tuna,herring, fruit,salads,nuts and chocolate milk. These were healthy options so in a way don’t count and are things I pick up when grocery shopping. However they’re not always the cheapest option where I’ve had to buy them when on the road and part of this challenge is to both save money and eat healthier so the grade for this month? C

4. CLEAN MY HOUSE EVERY WEEK: total failure as with all the exercise and work I’ve been doing it’s usually the last thing I want to do. I’m hoping like all the other challenges I eventually get going on this and make it a normal routine but so far not going well šŸ˜¦

5. START A SAVINGS FUND: this was on pace to happen this month till a couple of weeks ago. My work truck was in for an oil change when it was discovered a few things were needing repair sooner than later. So of course $2250 later the truck was fixed and the savings fund is still waiting for its first injection of cash!

6. STOP PLAYING ONLINE POKER: Total success as Iā€™m never wanting to play online. Barely interested in playing live!

RESULTS SO FAR: Overall things continue to go well. Some things are going better than expected when I came up with these challenges last year. And of course some things are not going very well at all! The most important thing though is my health and fitness in 6 months has been going great. Like some of you pointed out….100+lbs lost and I’ve done a Half Marathon and a Triathlon in just 6 months. I’m pretty happy with things!

JULY’s GOAL:
The last few months I’ve had certain weight goals I’ve wanted to hit(eg:break 250 for first time 19 years) but this month I don’t. I simply want to keep the weight loss going. To hit my goal weight by the end of the year I need to lose 8.1 lbs/month so that will be my goal this month. More will be icing on the cake.

WEEKLY WEIGH IN NUMBERS:
CW : 248.4 lbs
PW : 250.8 lbs
LTW : 2.4 lbs
LTY: 96.2 lbs

me @ 338lbs...Nov.2006


me @ 248.4lbs...July 1,2010


finally a clothed pic,eh? šŸ™‚


Nov/2006


July 1/2010


]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to June Challenges Review-Half Way Point Progress Pics

  1. April says:

    Whoa! That’s a huge difference. I bet you feel great!

    Thanks for the job congrats. It’ll pay the bills šŸ˜‰

  2. biz319 says:

    Your doing great John! While my daughter was gone I realized how much of the cleaning she actually did for me!

    So while she was gone, I decided to do just one thing a night – one night mop the kitchen floor, the next night do two loads of laundry, etc.

    That way I didn’t have to spend hours on the weekend cleaning – but I am glas she’s back – she’s already emptied the dishwasher!

    • John says:

      Thought you may get a surprise when she’s gone šŸ™‚
      Simple idea but most times when I get home I don’t want or forget to do any house work. Still got 6 months to get this going as well as my other goals šŸ™‚

  3. Looking fabulous! What a big difference in those photos, and I bet it cannot do justice to how you feel *inside* about it!

    Nice tan as well šŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: June Challenges Review-Half Way Point Progress Pics Ā« 2010: Time … | Car Blog

  5. Amazing results, all the hard work is paying off big time. I like that you have a variety of goals for different areas of your life. I’m impressed that cleaning the house made the list. My husband would be okay to clean the house hmmm once, maybe twice a year!

  6. I couldn’t find your blog on my work computer… but here I am now.

    Great job! You’re so impressive, working out 6 hours a week…wow. I manage to do a 1/2 hour 5x a week of planned exercise and I guess I walk the dog for another 20 mins too…but I don’t think that counts.

    Good luck on all your goal! “Stop playing online poker” lol
    white death (another lol) is a real killer–so good goal! best of luck on all of them!

  7. april says:

    John you are doing fantastic! I can see a major difference.. keep it up!!

    I need to make cleaning my house a goal too šŸ˜›

  8. Wow!!! You have come so far!! Congratulations on all your progress!!!!! Keep it up!!

Comments are closed.