The Show Must Go On

I know a lot of you suggested I rest and relax after my bike crash this week but……….I have a triathlon Sunday 🙂 I know there’d be complete understanding if I skipped it but I don’t think I will be. I mean I paid $103 for it so I may as well go since I’m actually about 97% or better physically. Looks wise I still turn heads….funny how I didn’t before the accident 🙂

The only way I don’t go through with the triathlon is if my bike is not ready tomorrow. If it’s not ready I’d have to race on my other bike. It’s the one that’s too small for me. I’d only have to use it for 40km but I’m not sure I want to put my knees through that. Hopefully my bike is ready and it didn’t take much money to fix.

Oh I forgot there’s one other way I don’t do my Olympic Triathlon tomorrow. And that is if I upgrade race morning and do the HALF IRONMAN! That is the reason I was riding two plus hours Tuesday when I only had to bike 25 miles or about 1:20:00. I’ve been contemplating moving up for 6 weeks but my mom possibly coming to watch kept me from making the move. I found out last weekend my parents made other plans so that left the door open to trying the Half Ironman. If they were going to come I wouldn’t change races because they’d have to sit there an extra 3 hours at least.

I’m going to wait till I get to the race site to make my decision. I’m going to factor in my shoulder for the 2000m swim, predicted heat for the entire 6+ hours of a Half Ironman and how much extra money it will be to upgrade at the last-minute. It should still be a lot less than signing up for the last Half Ironman I could possibly do on Labour Day weekend.

Try not to worry too much about me going through with either one of these. I honestly feel totally up to doing at least the Olympic and am pretty sure about the Half Ironman. I think the biggest thing with the HI is the heat on the run after already swimming and biking for 4 hours then having to run a Half Marathon.

Hope you all have a good weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Show Must Go On

  1. Jan says:

    Best of luck for whichever one you choose to do!

  2. Astrid says:

    I can’t even imagine having the mental strength to do a half ironman. You are incredible for considering it. I know you’ll make the right decision for you tomorrow. I’ll be so excited for you and definitely sending positive thoughts your way! By the way, my boyfriend started his own blog, you should check it out. bnsproject.blogspot.com. Good luck tomorrow!

  3. That is hardcore. Best of luck no matter what you decide. Just remember your body is recovering from some considerable trauma so be kind to yourself.

  4. I am looking forward to hearing how it goes!!

Comments are closed.