BIG NEWS: Strideaman Needs Your VOTES!

Good evening everyone! The news you’ve been waiting for is here finally! I know you were too excited to wait but just think how I felt waiting for confirmation as I ended up leaving it till the last-minute and had to resubmit my entry! Waiting for confirmation on the resubmition was even tougher as the entry deadline was noon today so if they didn’t accept it I was toast. Anyways I’m officially in and now I need your help! That’s right although it benefits me mainly I need your help.

I know on to the news πŸ™‚ I’ve entered a contest where with your help I can win $10,000.00! I came across Stride Gum’s contest called “Whatβ€˜s Your Big Stridea?” about 4 weeks ago. My entry is a combination of 2 ideas I came up with…one I’ve been working on for a few months now and the other one I came up with when I came across the contest. Here’s my entry(click on it to see it on the contest website):

Strideaman goes for 40 before turning 40

My ridiculous Stridea is to try completing 40 races in one year before I turn 40. I’ve recently dropped 105 lbs and was trying to think of a challenge to keep me fit and lose the last 45 and this was what I came up with. To date the most I’ve done is 4 in one year so it should be quite the challenge! As well with Stride Gum’s permission I’d do all these events as “Strideaman” wearing a shirt and cap with their logo on it. All races would be timed and a min. 5k up to marathons and Half Ironmans.

HOW DO I WIN??
I win if I receive enough votes to be one of the 5 Stridea’s with the most votes. That’s right I just have to be one of the top 5 as they are giving away 5 prizes of $10,000.00 So to win and be able to try to pull off my next big challenge of 40 races in the year before I turn 40 I need you to vote for me.

Voting starts at noon tomorrow(July 20) till noon on Friday, August 9, 2010. You’ll have to submit your e-mail address and are allowed to vote ” one (1) vote per person/e-mail address per day during the Voting Period”. As soon as I know exactly how you vote I’ll be posting that info here. I think though as of noon tomorrow if you click on my entry link there should be a voting option on the site.

HOW DID I COME UP WITH MY ENTRY:
For about 3 months now I’ve been mulling over trying to do 40 races in the year before I turn 40. I got this idea in my head back in April when I read Caitlin @ The Healthy Tipping Point was closing in on completing her 26th race before she turned 26. I asked her if that was career or one year and while waiting for her answer started wondering if I could do 40 since I turn 40 next year?! We e-mailed back and forth a couple of times about my idea and one of her ideas was maybe a company would sponsor my idea. When I started looking into a sponsor I came across Stride’s contest and decided to try that first.

Before entering the contest I consulted with Jenn of Eating Bender and POP! Social Media,Inc. to get her opinion of my idea and any suggestions she had before submitting it. She really liked what I had come up with so far and suggested a photo and/or video as well if I was comfortable with it. As I was mulling that over I came up with the idea of Strideaman. Yeah that’s right basically a knock off of Superman. This would tie my idea into the gum brand and provide them advertising even though they don’t vote on the ideas. Jenn thought this was an even better idea and said I should go with it 100%. So go with it I did.

ANYTHING ELSE?
At Jenn’s suggestion I’ve taken out a Twitter account in the name of Strideaman and have bought the website http://www.strideaman.com. I haven’t talked with Jenn since my entry confirmation but I think the website will just be used if I win to allow everyone to follow my progress on completing the 40 races. The Twitter account I’m thinking will be used immediately to drum up voting support. I’ve never Twittered so have no idea yet what to do πŸ™‚

VOTING LURE:
If you can help me be the overall vote getter I will add a cape to Strideaman’s wardrobe for any 5k race I run. I’d love to say I’d do it for all 40 but if you have ever watched “The Incredibles” you know a cape is the number one safety risk a superhero faces πŸ™‚

What would I do with 40 race event T-shirts? If I’m successful at winning this contest I will enter anyone who blogs, twitters and otherwise drums up votes for my entry into a contest to win one of the 40 t-shirts I’ll rack up. I’ll draw 40 different names with the first name being pulled getting choice of t-shirt, 2nd getting 2nd choice, etc. I’d love to do more but not really sure if doing/offering more would be against the rules πŸ™‚

VIDEO:
When I had to resubmit my entry they mentioned to make sure my video was legit and allowed by the rules. With less than 6 hours to enter again I didn’t risk entering the video the second time. I’d love to post it but WordPress won’t let me as it’s not the right file type?! Any suggestions other than Youtube?
edit: thanks to Lori here’s a link to the video: Strideaman video

WHAT DO YOU THINK?
So let me know what you think. The best way is by voting starting noon tomorrow πŸ™‚ but you can also comment here.

This entry was posted in Strideaman. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to BIG NEWS: Strideaman Needs Your VOTES!

  1. This is SO cool!!!! I am TOTALLY going to vote for you!!!! What a fantastic idea!! I am betting you win!!!

  2. Wow! I’ll vote πŸ˜€

    You could try photobucket.com for your video

  3. great idea! that’s quite an ambition. what type of races are you planning to run? Not all 1/2 marathons i hope! I’ll be voting… πŸ™‚

    • John says:

      Hi Kenzie, sorry I’ve been crazy busy here. My race plans are to do about 15 triathlons and the rest will be a combination of 5k,10k, HM and marathons.
      It’ll come down to the best schedule I can work out with the races available to me. Since almost every race would require a hour drive or more I’ll be leaning to
      do the longer races as I can’t see spending 2+ hours traveling to do a 5K all the time when they’re over in less than 30 minutes!

  4. Pingback: VOTING IS NOW OPEN (and weekly weigh in) « 2010: Time to Challenge Myself

  5. Chris says:

    Hey man !! That’s a great challenge.
    I am a 43 year-old roadie who rides River road as well…if you want someone to train with, drop me a line…

    Cheers !!
    Chris

    • John says:

      That would be something different as I’ve never trained with anyone on the bike before. I will keep this in mind for sure.

Comments are closed.