Need to Stick to the PLAN!

I know what you’re thinking. I show up and post 2,3 maybe 4 days in a row and then I take off again! Here’s why I’ve been gone this time. Friday night I went to bed at 8:30pm after being up late Thursday night dealing the weekly poker game. Saturday I woke up at 6:20am and went to work. After work I played 18 holes of golf in the pouring rain and then went to a rare Saturday night poker game. I say rare because with all the training I’ve been doing I’ve declined many invites so I’m ready to race or train Sunday mornings. I ended up playing poker till 2am last night. Knowing I probably wouldn’t get up for the usual run time I decided to do my paper work for the business and watch the last half of Rio Bravo. Finally around 4:20am this morning I went to bed.

I woke up this morning at 11am a little earlier than I expected after staying up so late. One of the first things I did was line up a golf game for this afternoon since it seemed the rain would hold off. After that I went to the corner store for some cat food. I bring this up since on the walk there my left ankle for the whole trip was very sore. It was almost as if I had turned over on it but I knew I hadn’t. I figured it was lucky I was putting my run off till this evening and going golfing as it would give me time for me to know if the ankle was really bad or not.

Ok so onto the important part of the post πŸ™‚ Today I planned on making this a test run for my half marathon goal next month. My goal since I signed up after my last HM in May was to break 2 hours. With 4 weeks to go and needing to work up to 20 miles from 6.2 miles last Sunday it seemed like a good idea to run 13.1 miles tonight. My plan going out was to run at a 9:09/mile clip which would bring me in just under 2 hours. However I didn’t do such a good job of this as I found myself running at a faster pace a number of times. That would normally be fine as you just dial it back but I didn’t and went with it. This left me struggling 9.5 miles into the run. I managed to hold on till 10.5 miles in when my legs stopped listening to my mind and the deals it was trying to make.

I wasn’t sure if I should but I kept making deals to get myself to finish the 13.1 miles. I just knew my left heel would be more sore than usual when I was done but I couldn’t decide if other parts of my legs were going to be fine or not. In the end my legs are fine and my left heel as usual is sore but not as bad as anticipated. There were a lot of deals tonight as I walked 5 or 6 times and it took a lot of convincing to finish the run. The last deal I made came at the end of the 12th mile. I looked at my overall time and realized if I walked 1/10th of a mile leaving myself 1 mile to go a simple 10:00/mile pace would have me come in 5 minutes or so better than my HM in May. After another short walk with 1/2 a mile to go I finally finished the run in 2:02:49! It was tough but worth it in the end. I’m glad I finished though I may think otherwise in the morning πŸ™‚

I do know next month in my race I really need to stick to the plan. If I would have tonight I’m sure it would have been a bit easier the last 3 miles. Oh well enough dwelling on this run. Now to psyche myself up for next Sunday’s 20 mile run!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Need to Stick to the PLAN!

  1. Wes says:

    WOW! That’s a great run with a sore ankle and poker-headness… πŸ™‚

    • John says:

      I should have clarified it better Wes. I didn’t run on a sore ankle. The ankle was only a problem for an hour or so when I woke up and then went away. Been good as new since even after the run?! Poker headedness was definitely there though even today. Tired today!

  2. That is such a great run!!! Good for you for sticking with your faster pace, even if you struggled a bit near the end – like you said, it was worth it!

  3. Finola says:

    Good luck breaking you <2 hour half! I was going to try to do that this fall, but then I fell off the running treadmill and have hardly trained all summer. Sigh.

    • John says:

      Yes it’s tough when you getaway from it for too long! I can’t afford to stop running as I don’t want to put weight back on.

  4. Carina says:

    Does the race have pace groups? That could help you avoid going out too fast. If not, another strategy I’ve heard (but never tried) is walking the first 30-60 seconds after the start so the crowd is thinner and you don’t get caught up in keeping up. Just some ideas, going out too fast seems to be a universal problem and Mile 10 John gets very angry with Mile 1 John, who feels fine running slightly too fast.

    • John says:

      No there’s no pace bunnies and I don’t believe there are any starting corrals. I don’t think I like the walking first bit as this race will be as well attended as the one I did in May. In May it was hard to pass people at times and I was able to start near the front of the pack.
      I just need to remember to keep my pace longer so that I don’t struggle at the end….especially since I have to golf 2 hours after I finish the race πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.