A Race Involving Only 1776 Steps?

Any idea of what I’m talking about??? No? What I’m talking about is the CN Tower climb! They have 2 every year. In April it’s for the World Wildlife Fund and in October it’s for the United Way. Although this race only involves taking 1776 steps there obviously is a slight problem with this as it goes straight up! The world record set back in 1989 is 7:52! I wonder how long it would take me??? Yes clearly longer than the record! šŸ™‚

Besides the effort it would take to climb the CN Tower my biggest problem with adding this race to my Strideaman schedule is that it’s not a minimum of 5k in length! When I first though up the idea of 40 races in 1 year before I turn 40 I decided the minimum race distance would be 5k. This was for a couple of reasons: any shorter and it would be easy to do 40 races and most races I’ll travel at least an hour each way so don’t want to basically get there and turn around again.

So why even think of adding this race? Well I figured a few months back that to do 40 races I’d need to mix it up to avoid burnout and to stay motivated. Also the more races I come across the better chance I have of finding the right schedule of races in both time and distance(both race and travel) and overall cost(travel and entry fees). As well I don’t really have any intentions of completing these 40 races easy.

My next post I’ll tell you of another race I’m contemplating but for now chime in with your opinion.
Do you think I should add this race? Does it count towards my 40?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Race Involving Only 1776 Steps?

  1. I think it should count. So what if it isn’t 5K – it’s an official race/event! Plus going straight up like that will feel more like a 10k when your are done…

  2. Finola says:

    I think you should definitely do it, and yes of course it would count. Not only would it be much more difficult than a 5K, but it has a totally cool bragging rights factor to it.
    Good luck!

  3. Yes I think it counts – goodness why wouldn’t it!! šŸ™‚ I would love to be able to say I did it!

  4. Wes says:

    A master knows when rules are made to be broken šŸ™‚

  5. trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

  6. weight says:

    yeah my dad will like this

Comments are closed.