Weekly Weigh In #27

Good morning! I realize I’m late getting this post up..again! I have a good excuse though as I spent all of last night and 2.5 hours this morning catching up on all the blogs in my feed. I didn’t read every word of every blog but did go through all the posts and commented where I felt like it. Some posts I wanted to but then felt after I typed the comment it might be best to say nothing so I did that as well. Now the key is to stay up on everyone’s blog so that I don’t fall so far behind again!

So yesterday morning I woke up and felt confident standing on the scale. Why? Well because of my 20 mile run the day before! Whenever I have a LONG run I know my weight will be good. It was a good thing I had the 20 mile run as my food intake has been shaky this past week even after unloading about it last week. I’m not panicking though. It’s a long process and although I may have set a lofty goal of losing 151lbs this year I don’t NEED to do that. It would be nice and I’m not giving up on it…yet. I am going to settle for hitting 131+lbs by the end of the year which would put me in the 210-220lb range.

Everyday I just keep reminding myself of all that I’ve accomplished and that I don’t want to waste it AGAIN! and that usually keep me from going to nuts when I can’t seem to control what I’m eating. I’d love to be able to say I’ve whipped chocolate milk’s butt but I haven’t. For now it seems like it’s my new “ice cream”. Ice cream was the hardest thing to wean myself off when I was getting ready to start this latest weight loss. I kicked ice cream’s butt so I have faith I’ll eventually kick chocolate milk to the curb as well.

After Sunday’s run I was expecting to feel a lot worse than I did and do now. Yesterday during work my quads were pretty sore but other than that the rest of my body was in good shape. Even my left heel was feeling fine yesterday.
On top of the new shoes and socks with built-in cushioning I also tried to keep my form good through out my run and didn’t worry about my pace as much. This meant I was running a good 30s/mile faster most times but if that means my heel likes me better I’m going to risk bonking earlier in my runs.

When I woke up this morning all is good. I suspect after/during my run today my quads may start squawking again but for now they’re happy. Here’s this week’s numbers:

TW : 236.5lbs
LW : 236.2lbs
LTW: + 0.3lbs
LTY: 108.2lbs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Weigh In #27

  1. Astrid says:

    John, you are awesome, and no one can do anything to take that away from you (even you). You are riht, we do all have our issues that prevent us from living our lives to our fullest. But then you go out and run 20 miles! You are training for a marathon and taking care of yourself. In my opinion that is pretty phenomenal!

  2. listedmal says:

    I do the same thing: read posts, write a comment, change my mind, leave no comment.

    Sometimes I just read what I’m writing and think “That added no value whatsoever..*delete.” …so now you know I read all the time and comment sporadically. 🙂

    20 miles probably deserves a chocolate milk, that’s probably not helping you kick it, but seriously, if you can’t have a chocolate milk after running twenty friggen miles, what’s life about?

    • John says:

      I agree 20 miles deserves a chocolate milk and I did have one after. However yesterday I didn’t deserve 2- 1L one but had 2L of it 🙂 That’s what I’m trying to break!

      • listedmal says:

        Fair enough, I’m having that same problem with chocolate chips by the handful (why are they even in my house?), and praline almonds (again, why?). If I had some self control I would be fine to reward myself…but I don’t really.

  3. lowandbhold says:

    I agree that you shouldn’t hold to your weight loss goal too rigidly, you’ve done so well already and you should be proud!

  4. If chocolate milk is your worst vice you’re doing pretty well!

  5. Vicki says:

    Hey John

    Congrats on the 20 mile run. I used to have a thing for chocolate milk – and well sugar…
    Now I solve my chocolate cravings with chocolate Almond Milk. Yes, Almond Milk. It sounds strange but it really is quite good. I buy the unsweetened chocolate almond milk and it tastes very good. I even put it on my puffed rice cereal (with a dollop of natural peanut butter).
    But really, as others have noted – there are much worse things than chocolate milk! Besides it is an excellent recovery drink after a hard work-out – perfect combination of carbs, fat, and protein.

    cheers,
    vicki

  6. Hi John! I randomly found your blog…and realized we have a few things in common. I’m also training for my first marathon on 10/10/10 (although I’ll be in Chicago). And I ran 20 miles over the weekend – such an amazing milestone!! Your half times are great BTW – you are going to rock the full. I also notice you like chocolate milk – that is my favorite indulgence after a long run. Finally…my bday is December 24 (the day after you). Ok…I’m feeling like a stalker…but I just had to write…enjoy your race!
    LeeAnn
    P.S. I’m also blogging about my first marathon (www.leeannwebster.com)- in case you want to check it out.

  7. Nicole says:

    Ice cream is hard to give up…I was just thinking about getting a scoop. O:-)

    You remind me of my brother with your chocolate milk love. He drinks it by the quart…never a good thing!! 🙂

  8. As soon as Chris can find one of those cyclo-cross races in our city, he will be doing it!!!

  9. biz319 says:

    OMG, I haven’t had chocolate milk in years – sounds so good!

    I think you are doing great John – and whatever you end up at the end of the year is kick ass better than when you started!

    Hugs!
    Biz

  10. you HAVE accomplished a lot. And I dont see you “throwing it all away” anytime at all! Sometimes you can “lapse” into old habits, but this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve “relapsed.” If you keep doing 20 mile runs, you’re going to reach your goal!!

  11. eatmovelove says:

    Impressive! Your doing great.

    And don’t give up the chocolate milk – it rocks! 🙂

  12. Brian says:

    I saw your comment on my wife’s blog and thought I’d drop by. Congrats on the weight loss! I’m wondering if you knew that chocolate milk is almost the perfect post-run recovery drink, not joking. It has the perfect mix of carbs, protein and calories and it is cheaper and more tasty than things like Recoverite.

    • John says:

      Learning that got me drinking it in the first place.I had been off all dairy but yogurt and whey protein till then. I just need to limit it to post workout instead of any time. Thanks for stopping by and god luck on your 100 miles!!!

  13. Amanda says:

    Hey there! Came across your blog from Biz’s blog! 20 miles? I’ve never run more than a half marathon at one time and that kills me! Total inspiration!

  14. Jessie says:

    Nice job on the 20 miler! You’re exactly right that it’s great to have a specific goal – but also to be flexible and allow yourself more time to reach that goal if you need. That way, the changes will stick!

    Have a great weekend!

  15. There’s not enough hours in the day to read all the blogs I want!

    Great job on the run, 20 miles is great!!

Comments are closed.