Fair Week

Good afternoon everyone! Sorry it’s been so long since my last post. I didn’t intend for that to happen but what can you do.This week has been Fair Week in my town. It’s not a huge fair but it’s a good one. It’s really good for me as I service 2 of the food booths each year. This is the last BIG money-maker of the year for me. My business is seasonal so after Labour Day till March or April depending on Mother Nature the money isn’t as good. So this week every year I’m always hoping for nice weather and good crowds 🙂 Unfortunately the first couple of days weren’t great and the crowds didn’t seem to be when it was nice. The weather today isn’t great either so not expecting much business today. In the end it’ll still be good but definitely down this year which is unfortunate for the 2 booths as they’re run by 2 local charities.

Besides business I’ve been getting my runs in and trying to get control of my eating. Tuesday after my posting my last post the sun came out so went for my speed run. I wasn’t feeling the mile repeats I did a couple of weeks earlier so decided to try to run a quick 10k. About 1/2 a mile into the run I saw I was running a sub 8min pace. I realized I either had to slow down or change my run plans. So I changed my run plans to doing two 5ks with a break in between. The reason I did this was to see if I could improve my 5k time. My previous best was around 27:24. To shorten my post a bit I was able to maintain a pretty good pace and my first 5k came in at 25:33. I walked for 9.5 minutes and then ran for home. My second 5k was just a second slower so I was pretty stoked.

Thursday’s runs are usually a 10 mile hill run. However after Sunday’s 20 mile run and Tuesday’s fast 2x5k my legs were pretty tired. I tried but ended up cutting my run short to 8.36 miles and averaged 10:37/mile. The only way I got that much running is that on my return trip I started walking the crest of the hills. Once I started down a hill I gave it my all till I was at the top of the next hill. It wasn’t a bad idea to cut the run down as I do have my next race next Sunday. Just call it an early start to my HM taper 🙂

Today was my last hard run before my HM. Using my old HM training plan I only ran 7 miles but I did it at my desired race pace. My original desired race pace was 9-9:09/mile to be able to break 2 hours for the first time. I’ve been rethinking this lately as my training runs have been going really well. Today’s run is a good example as I ran 7 miles at a 8:50/mile pace. I’m now thinking I’ll go for a bigger PR and try breaking 1:55:00 That means I’d have to run my HM at a 8:46/mile pace. I’m going to think about it but I’m leaning towards this new goal.

Ok that’s it for today. I’ll leave this week’s food control to tomorrow’s weekly weigh in post. Here’s a couple so-so pics of the fair grounds the morning after the opening night. In the opposite direction of the photos there’s also a bunch of barns that house a petting barn and show cattle,horses,etc. but I forgot to take a pic in that direction..ooops.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fair Week

  1. Oooooooh I just LOVE the fair!!!! I always eat the greasy fair food – I can’t resist!

  2. Wow – great job on those 5K times!

  3. Wes says:

    Great runs. Maybe you should stick to the old plan and blow your times out of the water?!?!

  4. lowandbhold says:

    Too fast 5Ks back-to-back sounds so miserable! You are awesome and those are AWESOME times!

  5. Awesome! Those times are incredible – you are fast.

  6. biz319 says:

    That’s an awesome 5k run time! Glad you decided to switch it up while on the run.

    Are those baked beans in the picture??

Comments are closed.