Race Goals: Canada Army Run HM

How’s it going everyone? Since I’m asking I obviously haven’t been to your blog in the last 3-4 days 😦 I’ve been a busy guy the last few days. Wednesday night I squeezed in a quick 4 mile run and then a walk to the bank to deposit my Bigstridea cheque. Thursday I spent the morning writing a e-mail to Stride Gum proposing they give me more money. Well ok actually suggesting they provide Strideaman’s race shirts as they could then put whatever they wanted on them. Also a formal request to be able to use the term Strideaman for my new blog since they now own the term. Thursday afternoon I relaxed while waiting to start our poker league that evening.

Yesterday was a long workday since it was a late night at poker. After work I immediately took off for the city to go pick up my race kit for tomorrow’s Canada Army Run HM. There was an accident on the way there which didn’t slow me down much on the way there but added 15 minutes on the way back. They detoured us I guess for their “accident investigation”. By the time I got home I was so tired that I don’t even remember when I fell asleep.What I do know is I woke up refreshed this morning which is good for tomorrow’s run.

Today was an easy day of work followed by a slow 2 mile run and 1/2 mile walk. I only did this because I needed to retrieve my car. My work truck’s refrigeration is broken so I parked it at home meaning I had to go get my car somehow.
I took the run slow like I said to be sure I would notice any possible problems. My legs and body felt great barely breaking a sweat. I feel good going into tomorrow. Tonight I hope to be in bed by 11pm to get another good sleep. I have a feeling though that no matter when I get to sleep I’ll be up before my alarm. So far I’ve never been woken up by the alarm on race day!

RACE GOALS
I like to put these in a post the night before for a couple of reasons. One is that if it’s posted I have something to gun for and can’t let up except for injury since I’ve put my goals out there. Secondly if it’s out there no one can question whether what happened is what I was actually trying to do. So my goal when I signed up for this race back in May was to run a sub 2 hour half marathon. As time and training passed it seemed more and more likely that I’d be able to do so.
The last few weeks though have me reconsidering my race goal. I’ve been majorly undecided how much I should push it tomorrow. There’s also the unknown of the race course and atmosphere. I’ve been put in a “yellow” corral and have no idea where that places me in the start lineup as I don’t think there was an expected time space on the entry form. I’m hoping they used my last HM time from May since it’s being run by the same people. At least then I wouldn’t be starting too far behind from where I’d like to start.

OK enough already right? My goals:
1:55:00-1:59:59….I’ll be pretty HAPPY if I break the 2 hour mark like I’ve been training for
1:50:00-1:54:59….I’ll be VERY HAPPY with this as I’ll have shaved more than 1min/mile off my PR
1:49:59 or less……I don’t think I’m there yet but if things are looking/feeling good early I may try for it

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Race Goals: Canada Army Run HM

  1. Astrid says:

    Good luck in tomorrow’s race. I will be thinking about you tomorro morning and hoping that you have a fun time. That’s what it’s about, right? Just enjoy the pure fun of running (I am still allergic) and make a good time! I am glad you are doing well!

  2. Good for you for asking for the shirts and rights to the name!! I think they will say YES!

  3. biz319 says:

    Can’t wait for the race recap!! Happy Monday!

Comments are closed.