50 Days Left

Good morning. It’s 3:20am as I type this! After a late night Thursday followed by an early morning yesterday I zonked out early last night. I’m hoping after I post this I’ll be able to get a few more hours sleep before I have to work this morning. To start today I’ll update you on my truck repairs. I got it back Thursday afternoon! The used rim worked and the repairs went as expected. In total this incident cost me $550. It could have been $1200 but finding a used rim at a local salvage yard saved me a lot. I also saved a lot of money using my car for deliveries. The problem with using the car though is it’s in need of repair now 🙂 I’ve been putting off some other repairs already though so guess this means I’m vehicle shopping next week. Since I won the BigStridea I’ve been wanting to buy a used full-sized van. This would replace my car and I’d have a more appropriate vehicle for deliveries when I don’t need my big truck.

50 DAYS
That’s how many days I have left till my planned end of this blog. I’m going to try to use this time to get back to where I was 3 months ago. Where was I? I was eating right and 20lbs lighter. I knew at the start of this blog I needed to change my ways for life but kind of forgot that. So last night I had my last bag of chocolate covered almonds 🙂 I also bought more yogurt and rice milk for my smoothies. I’ve never tried rice milk before and just thought I’d try it. I’ve tried almond milk and it was ok. I’m just looking for different things to use in my smoothies for more variety.

On the exercise front I’m planning to increase it a bit. Depending on how late tonight’s poker tournament goes I’m hoping to start skating tomorrow afternoon. I think it’s $2.50 for the hour it’s open. This is for our indoor hockey arena. Once the cold weather is here to stay I’ll be able to save that by using the outdoor rink. Not that $2.50 once or twice a week would break me 🙂

I also am thinking when the snow comes to stay I will take the plunge and buy some cross-country skis. About a month ago I checked out this outdoors store that sells and rents skis. They have a plan where they sell you a ski package and you pay for half of it up front. On March 1st if you liked it and want to keep them you pay for the other half. If you don’t want to keep them then you simply hand them back! They figure the cost of a package is $400 so giving them $200 to try them for the winter isn’t too bad. The weekend rental rate is $55. I’m not sure one weekend would be enough time to figure out if I can be good enough to complete the winter triathlon so I think that pay 1/2 now deal is the better option.

Ok well it’s 4am now so I’ll hit post and go back to bed. Have a good weekend!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 50 Days Left

  1. April says:

    You have really changed your life for the better. You are thinking so much differently as well.

    I would love to have a full sized van. Those things are sweet!

  2. When you end this blog, you will start a new one right!?

  3. listedmal says:

    I love chocolate covered almonds, but I can never buy a whole bag (because I will eat a whole bag and then feel gross and guilty for several days), so I buy like 5 from the bulk bins at the grocery store every now and then, keeps me happy, but it’s not too much to throw things off.

    I’m glad you’re getting back into the swing of things; make sure to let us know where you’ll be blogging in 2011 (if you are going to blog, I hope you will).

    I used to have a membership to a cross-country ski club with my mom when I was in high school, and I really liked it alot as it can be an intense workout or a social outting, depending on what you want that day. Plus it’s always nice to be able to come back in for a cup of tea when you get chilly. I definitely recommend taking the x-ski plunge.

Comments are closed.