Like Riding a Bike

Boy am I tired! It’s been about 2 hours since I got back from playing badminton. I played for close to 2 hours tonight. I also played most of the games with the better players so I ran and sweated my butt off. It’s a lot of fun and doesn’t seem like exercise so it’s not noticeable till after you’re home just how tired you are!

I also ran this afternoon. I planned on running to my parents and back for 10 miles. Running out there it felt good. It was probably the last run in a t-shirt till spring as well. Running home didn’t happen as I got talking to my parents and by the time I had to run home it was too cool to run home in a t-shirt. My parents had just come home yesterday from their vacation so it was easier than normal to end up talking with them for a couple of hours. I may try running again tomorrow. Not so much to make up for the 5 miles I didn’t run as it is to try running 2 days in a row. I haven’t tried running 2 days in a row for 3 years. Last time I did my knees didn’t like me so I stopped doing that.

On Sunday I went to the local hockey rink for public skating. It was the first time in 3 years and 2nd time in 21+ years that I’ve skated. I was figuring it was like riding a bike….once you learn you never forget. I was right! 🙂 I wasn’t the best at it but I think I did pretty well. In 48 minutes I only fell once and that was because I was worried about running over a little kid. I wasn’t sure I was going to make it by the kid and had nowhere to go but down. So this week the main focus will be relearning how to stop 🙂

Ok time for bed it’s 11:59pm as I hit post. Good night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Like Riding a Bike

  1. Pingback: Diabetes Articles» Like Riding a Bike « 2010: Time to Challenge Myself

  2. listedmal says:

    You and me both with the stopping. I’m a shitty stopper, which is funny because I went to Carleton U for 4 years, lived by the Canal, went skating a lot…but never really got the hang of the hockey stop (which I am amazing at on skis, by the way, I can spray people with snow for 20 feet).

    I desparately need to get out running two days in a row, I can’t seem to start a proper running routine, so I go out occasionally and then don’t run again for a week or so. If I could just push out two days in a row, I think I would be able to get on with the program.

  3. Wes says:

    you are WAY too active 🙂

  4. i used to figure skate as a kid, but ive totally lost it since then! glad you had a good time!

  5. Oh gosh, I can’t even remember the last time I skated!!

Comments are closed.