New Ride

Well today wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be but it was better. Tomorrow will be better and Friday even better. Been reminding myself all day it didn’t just happen at the start of the year. It took time. I think part of today’s rebellion was due to Sparkpeople. I redid my numbers and it told me I need to drop my calories to between 1500-1850 if I do NO exercise. If I exercise 6 hours/week I need to be between 1870 and 2220. Since I’m not exercising for another week a maximum of 1850 seems crazy. So starting tomorrow I’m aiming for 2220. Even though I’m not exercising I’ll still lose weight because I’ve been WAY over that the last few months!


What you see in the pics above are my old vehicle and my new one. A little over four years ago I bought the Ford Focus you see in the first pic. In that time I put 100,000km(60,000+ miles) changing the oil once :-O. 3 years ago I started using it to do my deliveries twice a week often putting 1/2 a ton of product in it :-O This was to save wear and tear on my newer more expensive work truck and save money on fuel. It still starts and runs well but it needs a lot of work to keep it on the road so it made sense to buy a more appropriate vehicle.

The van you see in the other pics is what I bought about 3 weeks ago. It’s a 1999 Dodge Ram 3500 1 ton. It was a little more than I wanted to blow on a new vehicle but it seemed to make sense. It only had 80k km/50k miles on it and other than a bent in front bumper it was in really good shape. Being a 1 ton it can also handle all the product I’ll ever need to carry in it. The van came with some equipment I didn’t need like the ladder rack and beacon light you see in the pic along with shelves for inside and a directional light on the back. I’m hoping to sell these items after Christmas to bring the cost of the van down. The biggest expense so far was patching the hole where the generator use to be. I had to pull the box it was housed in out in order to get my product in the van which left the hole.

So far it seems like the van was worth the money. All except for the gas mileage! It’s a bit cheaper than my work truck but not much and that’s with me obeying the speed limits! I just keep reminding myself I have a safe, reliable vehicle for my smaller delivery days and I’m prolonging the life of my work truck. I have a feeling I’ll be walking more when I don’t need to drive πŸ™‚

This purchase may not have happened so soon if it wasn’t for everyone who helped me win the Bigstridea contest. So again I’d like to thank you all for your help. I’ll be thinking of you all when I’m driving πŸ˜‰ The rest of the money has or will be put towards my races and the new blog for it. I’m hoping to finally tell you about it tomorrow. Till tomorrow then!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Ride

  1. I am still so happy that you won!! Glad you were able to put the money to good use!

Comments are closed.