Resolution Run Recap

***This post was copied from my new blog Racing to 40. I have at least 2 more planned blog posts for this blog before completely moving over to the new blog. Today I’m just too tired to write one of them.***

Good morning! Everyone recovered from New Year’s festivities? My celebrating was pretty low key as usual. It was a little different this year though as I was running a 10k race New Year’s Eve followed by a poker game. I did something kind of crazy yesterday as well but I’ll leave that for my next post.

As I mentioned in my last post I haven’t been running for 3.5 weeks. Heading into Friday’s race I had gone 4 straight days with no heel pain and feeling good about my chances of coming out of this without the heel flaring up again. So I was a pretty worried when half-way from where I parked to the starting line my heel started bothering me. Not just a little but a fair bit. I now know what I’m doing with the gift certificates I got for my birthday and Christmas. I’m buying new shoes as the ones I was wearing felt like there was no cushioning left in them.

The race itself went fairly well considering said lack of running. The first mile I probably went out a bit too fast but since it was only a 10k I wasn’t too worried. I just wanted to get an idea of how much my running deteriorated between the lack of running and added weight. The first mile I ran in about 9.5 minutes so I was pretty happy even though I knew I’d pay for it later in the race Shortly after that I came across a friend who was running it as well. We ended up running together for most of the next 4 miles. We were at different times running anywhere from a 10:00-11:00/mile pace. With about 1 mile or so to go I lost my friend and was on my own again. After I finished I walked back out and ran the rest of the way in with my friend.

I was kind of hoping to break 1 hour but knew 1/2 way through it was unlikely. In the end I had to settle for finishing in 1:06:30 for a 10:43/mile pace(6:38/km). Great thing about the race was that my heel held up well during the race and afterwards hurt me just a little bit. Now I’m trying to decide to rest it one more week or not. The next race isn’t till the 16th and it’s another 10k so something I can obviously do w/o much training.

Ok that’s it for now. One race down and 39 more to go. Piece of cake!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Resolution Run Recap

  1. Astrid says:

    Hey 39 isn’t that huge of a number. Imagine how many cool stories you will have. It is such a huge undertaking and I’m proud of you for taking it on. Glad the pain isn’t terrible.
    Happy new year!!

  2. Wes says:

    Happy New Year. I can make my heel flare up just thinking about it 🙂

  3. Something crazy!!!!????? I am intrigued.

Comments are closed.