Toughest One Yet

I really didn’t believe all my training runs would go great but I was hoping so…lol. Today’s run overall was good but it had its moments. I headed out at 1pm with the weather a sunny 8C(46F). I almost wanted to go out in shorts and a t-shirt but didn’t want to risk a cold with winter almost gone. It was a warm one though wearing a sweatshirt,shell pants and a black cap.

My training plan called for a 6.5 mile run today. This was only 0.3 miles longer than what I ran last Sunday so I decided to try to beat last week’s time of 83 minutes for 6.2 miles. This wasn’t a mistake but it sure did challenge me mentally. With about 2.5 miles left I really had to fight to keep my mind and body moving. Once I got within 1km of my house I was a lot happier. I usually run that 1km or so but I stuck with the R5/W1 method I started the run with. When I got to my house the run wasn’t over though as I didn’t think I had run enough.

Before I left for the run I had made myself an electrolyte drink and stashed it in my work truck. So when I got my house I grabbed the drink and headed back out for another 1/4 mile or so to reach my 6.5 mile go. I was so glad I had pre-made the drink as I was one thirsty runner. Up to 6-7 miles is about my max. distance for running w/o bringing proper hydration.
That means in 2 weeks I’ll need to start bringing water with me as that week I’ll need to run 8 miles.

Besides the mental challenge during the run I also felt the worst yet after a run. I walked for 30 minutes afterwards to cool down and relax the legs but this was the slowest walk yet. I figure I may have walked 1 mile in that 30 minutes. I’m almost fully recovered 7 hours later so I figure tomorrow I’ll be 100%. I do know I’ll sleep well tonight as I’m pretty tired right now. Exercise and nice spring and/or summer air will usually tucker me out 🙂

Good night!

Today’s run : 6.71 miles in 01:24:10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Toughest One Yet

  1. I love how you use your truck as your own ‘water station’!

  2. Great job on the run! You might want to invest in a camelback for hydration. That way you won’t have to stash drinks around LOL

    • John says:

      I actually have a Norco version of a camelback. I haven’t used it in 3 years so have to see if it’s still useable.

  3. Jess says:

    You’re doing great! I’m trying to get to a 10K too. My first 5K race will be at the end of this month.

    I’m beat. I ran walk the 5K today (40:00) because I had a 30 minute free consult with the PT and he worked my ass off. Tired. Sore. Butt hurts. Legs are jello.

    Dinner!

    Keep it up! Hoping to hear about your 8 mile soon.

Comments are closed.