Close Call

Today like the last week and a half I was up with my alarm clock yet late getting out of the house. I think I need to set my alarm clock earlier if I’m going to take an hour and a half to get out the door. On top of starting late I had to double back to a few customers for various reasons so I didn’t get home till 5pm which is unusual for a Wednesday. I relaxed for 45 minutes and then went out for my run.

I had every intention of running slow to make sure I don’t reinjure my foot but I was still too fast. Fortunately my foot survived another run injury free. I did my usual 4 miles and counting 4 minutes of walking finished in 43:20 for a 10:50min/mile. If you take out the walking it would have been a sub 10min/avg which is faster than I want this week.

On the way home there’s a corner where I turn that has a hydro pole right beside the sidewalk. Today when I turned the corner I leaned a little too much into the turn and I heard a big rip and felt a tug on my left shoulder! I guess there’s a nail or pice of wood sticking out that I never noticed before?! It was a close call as I couldn’t have missed my shoulder hitting it by more than 1/4″. Wouldn’t have been fun explaining that injury….so John how did you hurt your shoulder? Huh, well,huh I ran into a pole 😉

Not sure If I’ll be around to post tomorrow night. First if it doesn’t rain I’m going golfing again and then I have an appointment to get my gait checked at 5pm in the city. Then I’m hopefully going to take that info to the Running Room and buy a new pair of shoes. Then I’m going to go next door to Popeye’s Supplement’s to replenish my protein powder supplies. I think I have enough left for one smoothie…not good. And then finally I have to go deal cards at poker.

So I’ll probably be back Friday night. Have a good day tomorrow everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Close Call

  1. Ooooh – that sucks that you ripped your shirt … but at least it wasn’t your arm 🙂

    Have a good Thursday!

  2. Jess says:

    Ooo, gait check. You need to consider the gorilla feet when you’re more comfortable with the idea of barefoot 🙂 I think you’d dig.

    You and your fast effin’ 4 miles. I’m working my way up there! Not quite there yet though.

    Good thing you didn’t hit the nail. That would’ve been kind of funny though. “Oh, I ran smack into a pole.” Nice, buddy.

    Have fun with poker!

    By the way, what kind of protein do you get?

  3. Popeye’s supplements? I have heard of Popeye’s fried chicken LOL!

    Glad your foot is doing well. Please be careful with it. You just do not want a long-term injury. They suck….

  4. Wes says:

    Hi John! Funny, I came by and checked on you the other day, but you have no blogspot blog listed. As far as your question to me goes, padded shorts are a MUST. Bike shorts/tri shorts are a necessity for comfortably riding the bike. If you are still on the heavier side, then I think a gel saddle would be a good thing too until you slim up.

    Happy training! and good luck!!!

  5. Astrid says:

    Haha! You have some things in common with my boyfriend. He loves playing golf and tried to do it at least weekly. And he likes running (driving) into poles, too! The other week, he backed up his truck into a telephone pole and messed up his back bumper pretty badly! H eclaimed to his dad and insurance that it was a “hit and run” in a parking lot. I am so glad that you didn’t actually run into the pole. Shoulder injuries are not fun at all!

  6. That’s great time! Too bad about the pole haha!

  7. Jessie says:

    Oh my goodness, that was a close one with the pole :O Glad it was your shirt and not you that was torn! I’m glad to hear your had an injury-free run (that’s so important). Have fun getting new sneakers! I always enjoy trying new running shoes out 🙂

  8. Nicole says:

    Running in to poles is never good 🙂 I want to be home by 5pm every day, that’d be sweet! But I do enjoy my Fridays off. Take the good with the bad, right?

    Hope you got some protein powder, otherwise I doubt you’ll be eating those smoothies you love!

  9. april says:

    Ahhh man that was a close one!! I’m so glad your ok!

Comments are closed.