April Challenges Review

I’ll try to make this a little shorter than my last reviews 🙂

1. CUT OUT WHITE DEATH: Just like usual it’s going well with only 6 days over the recommended sodium intake and it wasn’t over by much. This month was the first time this year I had any dessert. The only reason was because of my brother’s wedding. I was worried it may trigger my old sweet tooth habits but it hasn’t thankfully!

2. Exercise 1 HOUR/DAY for 6 days/week: Even with recurring foot problems early in the month I still managed to exercise 24 out of the 30 days of April. This level of activity should stay high or even rise with my training for a triathlon now.

3. STOP EATING OUT unless(I have a very good reason): This month I bought a meal two or three times at one of my wholesalers as I realized my day was going to run long and I wouldn’t make it home in time for my next meal. This wasn’t a big deal though as I bought things I’d buy for home except for the canned chili. Apples,bananas,sardines and chili is what I bought in a pinch. There were two other times I didn’t eat at home and they were planned and unavoidable. Those were Easter dinner at my parents and my brother’s wedding. Both of these events I ate a bit more than normal but overall wasn’t too bad. I’d say another successful month overall.

4. CLEAN MY HOUSE EVERY WEEK: Total Failure…..think that covers this challenge 🙂

5. START A SAVINGS FUND: Total Failure…..do to my brother’s wedding and my buying proper gear for running and triathlon exercise. Things are picking up business wise so hopefully as planned this month I’ll be able to start putting money away for the future.

6. STOP PLAYING ONLINE POKER: Total success as I’m never wanting to play online. Barely interested in playing live!

RESULTS SO FAR:
Things are going pretty well. I should be better with the house cleaning but other than that I think all the other challenges are going as well as I was hoping or better. With my money being spent on eating right and buying proper gear for exercising my weight loss continues to go well. I’ve had the odd week I would have hoped went better but realistically I’m losing the weight at a more than acceptable level. As of this morning I’m down approx. 65 lbs(scale wasn’t giving a consistent # this morning) meaning I dropped 14 lbs in April. I’m hoping to lose at least 13 more in May so I’ll be at or lower than the weight I ran my first HM 3 years ago. Goal for June 1st will be to weigh in at 267 lbs or less!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April Challenges Review

  1. Jess says:

    HOORAY FOR THE OLYMPIC TRI! I’m totally stoked. What kind of gear did you get? You should be my tri-coach/mentor. If that’s too stressful, some awesome tips 🙂 Gotta learn from the best.

    Anyway, I want to get a bike, but I think I’ll start off with a lower end road bike (from Target). Where do you train for swimming? Bah, so many questions.

    All that aside, I really need to clean my house more too. Nice job for kicking ass on all the other goals. Hooray for pokerstars and the like not stealing your money and time any more!

    • John says:

      Glad you’re stoked cause to be honest I’m not yet. I train for my swimming at a indoor pool in the next town over.

  2. biz319 says:

    I love your goals! Here’s a hint on keeping your house clean. Just pick one thing a night – so one night you sweep and mop the kitchen floor, the next night, clean the bathroom, the next night, vacuum and dust – if you spread it out you’ll find that keeping the house clean will be a snap!

    Enjoy your Sunday!

    • John says:

      Your plan sounds so simple and smart but too difficult for me….lol. Too tired tonight but will try to start tomorrow.

  3. Great work on your goals!!!!

    To get myself motivated to clean the house I invite friends over for dinner!! Then I have a reason to clean 🙂

  4. listedmal says:

    Other than the poker bit (I’ve never been a gambler of any sort), those are pretty much my goals too. I always eat too much salt, and spend what should be savings, never clean or make time to exercise or make my lunch. Well, never and always are a bit strong, I’m not SO far off the goals, but I could do better.

    14lbs in April is pretty king!

  5. Nicole says:

    I laughed at the saving and cleaning…you sound like me! How did the 12.5 go!?

Comments are closed.